Core Faculty

NameTitle/InterestEmail
Catherine Benamou
Benamou
Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies
Interests: Hispanophone and Lusophone cinema and television, U.S. Latino media, Orson Welles and maverick cinema, transnational flows, spectatorship, Cinematic memory and cultures of preservation
Published Books
cbenamou@uci.edu
Desha Dauchan
Dauchan
Assistant Professor of Teaching
Interests: Media and Activism, African-American Film, African Diaspora Cinema, Screenwriting & Film Production
ddauchan@uci.edu
Sohail Daulatzai
Daulatzai
Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies
Interests: African American studies, Postcolonial Theory, Race, Hip Hop, Muslim Diasporas
Published Books
sdaulatz@uci.edu
Bambi Haggins
Haggins
Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies
Interests: Black African-American Comedy in Film, Television History, Digital Media and Performance, Comedy as Social and Political Discourse, African-American Studies, American Studies
Published Books
bhaggins@uci.edu
Kristen Hatch
Hatch
Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies and Director of Visual Studies
Interests: American Film History, Stardom, Histories of Race, Gender and Sexuality, Childhood, Melodrama
Published Books
khatch@uci.edu
Lucas Hilderbrand
Hilderbrand
Director of Undergraduate Studies for FMS
Professor of Film and Media Studies
Interests: Queer Cultures and Media, Cultural Studies, Documentary, Pornography, Popular Music, Video Art, Histories of Technology
Published Books
lucas.h@uci.edu
Victoria E. Johnson
Johnson
Professor of Film and Media Studies
Interests: Television, Critical Race Theory, Sound, Media Policy, Sport
Published Books
v.e.johnson@uci.edu
Meryem KamilAssistant Professor of Film and Media Studiesmkamil@uci.edu
Peter Krapp
Krapp
Professor of Film and Media Studies; English; Informatics; Music
Interests: Secret communications and cybernetics (cryptologic history), Cultural memory and media history (games and simulations, history of computing), Aesthetic communication (title design, film music)
Published Books
krapp@uci.edu
Keiji Kunigami
Kunigami
Assistant Professor of Film and Media Studies
Interests: Brazilian cinema, Japanese cinema, critical race studies, critical theory, decolonial theory, black/feminist film theory, cinematic/photographic temporality, Asian-Latin American Studies
akunigam@uci.edu
Bliss Cua Lim
Lim
Ph.D. New York University, Professor of Film and Media Studies; Visual Studies
Interests: Philippine Cinema, film archives, cinematic and queer temporality, queer Asian cinemas, postcolonial and feminist film theory, transnational horror and the fantastic
Published Books
bliss.lim@uci.edu
Catherine Liu
Liu
Professor of Film and Media Studies and Comparative Literature
Interests: Hou Hsiao-hsien, Culture Wars, Frankfurt School, Historiography of Critical Theory/Cultural Studies, Surveillance, Cold War Culture and Neoliberalism
Published Books
catherine.liu@uci.edu
Glen Mimura
Mimura
Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies
Interests: Minoritarian and Political Film, Media and Race, Popular Culture and Social Movements
Published Books
gmimura@uci.edu
Allison Perlman
Perlman
Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies and History
Interests: History of Broadcasting, American Social Movements, Media Law and Policy, Media Activism, Popular Memory
Published Books
aperlman@uci.edu
Fatimah Tobing Rony
Rony
Department Chair and Professor of Film and Media Studies
Interests: Narrative and Documentary Film Production, Visual Biopolitics, History and Theory of Ethnographic Film, Transnational Cinema, Postcolonial Studies, Feminist Film Theory, Visual Studies
Published Books
fatimah@uci.edu
Bonnie Ruberg
Ruberg
Assistant Professor of Film and Media Studies
Interests: Digital Media, Game Studies, Technology, Queer Studies, LGBTQ Studies, Gender Studies, Video Games, Feminism, Digital Humanities
bruberg@uci.edu
Braxton Soderman
Soderman
Assistant Professor of Film and Media Studies
Interests: Digital and New Media Studies, Video Games, Networks, Digital Art & Electronic Literature
asoderma@uci.edu