Core Faculty

NameTitle/InterestEmail
Eyal Amiran
Amiran
Professor of Comparative Literature and of Film and Media Studies (digital media theory, twentieth-century literature, narrative and textual theory, psychoanalysis, modern and postmodern intellectual history)
Published Books
amiran@uci.edu
Catherine Benamou
Benamou
Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies (Hispanophone and Lusophone cinema and television, U.S. Latino media, Orson Welles and maverick cinema, transnational flows, spectatorship, cinematic memory and cultures of preservation)
Published Books
cbenamou@uci.edu
Desha Dauchan
Dauchan
Lecturer, PSOE (Media & Activism, African-American Film, African Diaspora Cinema, Screenwriting & Film Production)ddauchan@uci.edu
Sohail Daulatzai
Daulatzai
Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies (African American studies, postcolonial theory, race, hip hop, Muslim diasporas)
Published Books
sdaulatz@uci.edu
Aglaya Glebova
Glebova
Assistant Professor of Art History and of Film and Media Studies
(History and theory of photography and film, European avant-garde, Russian and Soviet art)
aglebova@uci.edu
Bambi Haggins
Haggins
Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies (Black [African American] comedy in film, television, digital media and performance, television history, comedy as social and political discourse, African-American studies, American studies)
Published Books
bhaggins@uci.edu
Kristen Hatch
Hatch
Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies and Director of Visual Studies (American film history; stardom; histories of race, gender, and sexuality; childhood; melodrama)
Published Books
khatch@uci.edu
Lucas Hilderbrand
Hilderbrand
Professor of Film and Media Studies (Queer cultures and media, cultural studies, documentary, pornography, popular music, video art, histories of technology)
Published Books
lucas.h@uci.edu
Victoria E. Johnson
Johnson
Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies (television, critical race theory, sound, media policy, sport)
Published Books
v.e.johnson@uci.edu
Peter Krapp
Krapp
Department Chair, Film and Media Studies
Professor of Film and Media Studies and of English (digital culture, media history, cultural memory
Published Books
krapp@uci.edu
Bliss Cua Lim
Lim
Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies (Philippine cinema, temporality, postcolonial and feminist film theory, transnational horror and the fantastic, film archives)
Published Books
bliss.lim@uci.edu
Catherine Liu
Liu
Professor of Film and Media Studies and Comparative Literature (Hou Hsiao-hsien, culture wars, Frankfurt School, historiography of critical theory/cultural studies, surveillance, cold war culture and neoliberalism)
Published Books
catherine.liu@uci.edu
Glen Mimura
Mimura
Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies (minoritarian and political film; media and race; popular culture and social movements)
Published Books
gmimura@uci.edu
Allison Perlman
Perlman
Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies and History (history of broadcasting, American
social movements, media law and policy, media activism, popular memory)
Published Books
aperlman@uci.edu
Fatimah Tobing Rony
Rony
Professor of Film and Media Studies (ethnographic film, race and representation, film production)
Published Books
fatimah@uci.edu
Braxton Soderman
Soderman
Assistant Professor of Film and Media Studies (digital and new media studies, video games, networks, digital art and electronic literature)asoderma@uci.edu