Core Faculty

NameTitle/InterestEmail
Eyal Amiran
Amiran
Professor of Comparative Literature and of Film and Media Studies
Interests: Digital Media Theory, 20th Century Literature, Narrative and Textual Theory, Psycoanalysis, Modern and Postmodern Intellectual History
Published Books
amiran@uci.edu
Catherine Benamou
Benamou
Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies
Published Books
cbenamou@uci.edu
Desha Dauchan
Dauchan
Lecturer, PSOE
Interests: Media and Activism, African-American Film, African Diaspora Cinema, Screenwriting & Film Production
ddauchan@uci.edu
Sohail Daulatzai
Daulatzai
Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies
Interests: American Studies, Postcolonial Theory, Race, Hip Hop, Muslim Diasporas
Published Books
sdaulatz@uci.edu
Aglaya Glebova
Glebova
Assistant Professor of Art History and of Film and Media Studies
Interests: History and Theory of Photography and Film, European Avant-Garde, Russian and Soviet Art
aglebova@uci.edu
Bambi Haggins
Haggins
Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies
Interests: Black African-American Comedy in Film, Television History, Comedy as Social and Political Discourse, African-American Studies, American Studies
Published Books
bhaggins@uci.edu
Kristen Hatch
Hatch
Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies and Director of Visual Studies
Interests: American Film History, Stardom, Histories of Race, Gender and Sexuality, Childhood, Melodrama
Published Books
khatch@uci.edu
Lucas Hilderbrand
Hilderbrand
Professor of Film and Media Studies
Interests: Queer Cultures and Media, Cultural Studies, Documentary, Pornography, Popular Music, Video Art, Histories of Technology
Published Books
lucas.h@uci.edu
Victoria E. Johnson
Johnson
Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies
Interests: Television, Critical Race Theory, Sound, Media Policy, Sport
Published Books
v.e.johnson@uci.edu
Peter Krapp
Krapp
Department Chair, Film and Media Studies
Professor of Film and Media Studies and of English
Interests: Media History, Secret Communications , Models and Simulations, History of Computing, Film Music, Title Design, Media Theories
Published Books
krapp@uci.edu
Bliss Cua Lim
Lim
Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies
Interests: Philippine Cinema, Temporality, Postcolonial and Feminist Film Theory, Transnational Horror and the Fantastic, Film Archives
Published Books
bliss.lim@uci.edu
Catherine Liu
Liu
Professor of Film and Media Studies and Comparative Literature
Interests: Hou Hsiao-hsien, Culture Wars, Frankfurt School, Historiography of Critical Theory/Cultural Studies, Surveillance, Cold War Culture and Neoliberalism
Published Books
catherine.liu@uci.edu
Glen Mimura
Mimura
Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies
Interests: Minoritarian and Political Film, Media and Race, Popular Culture and Social Movements
Published Books
gmimura@uci.edu
Allison Perlman
Perlman
Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies and History
Interests: History of Broadcasting, American Social Movements, Media Law and Policy, Media Activism, Popular Memory
Published Books
aperlman@uci.edu
Fatimah Tobing Rony
Rony
Professor of Film and Media Studies
Interests: Ethnographic Film, Race and Representation, Film Production
Published Books
fatimah@uci.edu
Braxton Soderman
Soderman
Assistant Professor of Film and Media Studies
Interests: Digital and New Media Studies, Video Games, Networks, Digital Art & Electronic Literature
asoderma@uci.edu