Core Faculty

Donaldson

Brianne Donaldson
b.donaldson@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Ph.D. Claremont School of Theology, Shri Parshvanath Presidential Chair in Jain Studies and Associate Professor of Religious Studies
Interests: Philosophy (Jainism, South Asian religions, South Asian philosophy, process philosophy, critical animal studies, ethics and bioethics)

Allen

Elizabeth Allen
eallen@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of English
Interests: Comparative Literature; Religious Studies (Chaucer, Gower, 15th century poetry; exemplary literature, romance, chronicle, episodic form; intersections between ethics and politics, politics and religion; hospitality, sovereignty, legal and constitutional history of England)

 

Bailey

Stanley Bailey
bailey@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of Sociology
Interests: Religious Studies (race and ethnicity, religion, immigration, Latin America)

 

Baum

Emily Baum
emily.baum@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Associate Professor of History
Interests: Modern China; history of medicine and psychiatry in China; comparative medical history; popular religion

 

Berberian

Houri Berberian
houri.berberian@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Director of the Armenian Studies Program and Meghrouni Family Chair in Armenian Studies and Professor of History
Interests: Modern Armenian and Middle Eastern History; revolution, women and gender

 

Bernal

Victoria Bernal
vbernal@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of Anthropology
Interests: Feminist theory, gender, civil society,globalization,cyberspace, transnationalism,the Islamic revival, peasants, labor migration, Africa, Muslim societies

 

Betancourt

Roland Betancourt
roland.betancourt@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Chancellor's Fellow and Associate Professor of Art History
Interests: Byzantine Art, Visual Culture, and Theology; Critical Theory; Queer Theory; Popular Culture; Theme Parks; Simulacral Spaces

 

Brown

Susan K. Brown
skbrown@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of Sociology
Interests: International migration, educational inequality, urban sociology

 

Canepa

Matthew Canepa
matthew.canepa@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Elahe Omidyar Mir-Djali Presidential Chair and Professor of Art History
Interests: Art and Archaeology of Persia and the Ancient Iranian World; Achaemenid, Seleucid, Arsacid, Sasanian empires; Hellenistic Iran and Central Asia; Eurasian late antiquity; cross-cultural interaction; critical theory

 

Chaturvedi

Vinayak Chaturvedi
vinayak@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

 Professor of History
Interests: South Asia, Social and Intellectual History

 

Chen

Yong Chen
y3chen@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Associate Dean of Curriculum and Student Services and Professor of History
Interests: Asian American Studies; Religious Studies(Asian American history and immigration, food and culture, U.S./China economic and cultural interactions)

 

Choi

Chungmoo Choi
cchoi@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of Korean Culture
Interests: Religious Studies (modern Korea, postcolonial and colonial discourse, popular culture, anthropology)

 

Coller

Ian Coller
icoller@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of History
Interests: Religious Studies, History (Early Modern Europe and Islam, Middle East and North Africa, imperialism, race and religion in the revolutionary era)

 

Coutin

Susan B. Coutin
scoutin@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of Criminology, Law and Society
Interests: Religious Studies (law, culture, immigration, human rights, citizenship, political activism, sanctuary, Central America)

 

Daryaee

Touraj Daryaee
tdaryaee@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

UCI Endowed Chair in Persian Studies and Culture and Professor of History
Interests: Religious Studies (Iran, Zoroastrianism, Ancient Medieval World)

 

Davis

Rebecca Davis
radavis@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

https://www.faculty.uci.edu/profile.cfm?faculty_id=5638
Associate Professor , Religious Studies
Interests: Religious Studies (Old and Middle English literature, Piers Plowman, medieval religious culture, women’s writing, medieval philosophy)

 

Donaldson

Brianne Donaldson
b.donaldson@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Associate Professor, Philosophy and Religious Studies and Shri Parshvanath Presidential Chair in Jain Studies
Interests: Jainism, South Asian Religions and Philosophy, Ethics/Bioethics, Critical Animal Studies, Whitehead's Process-relational Philosophy

 

Guo

Qitao Guo
guoq@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of History
Interests: Religious Studies (social, cultural, and religious history of pre-modern China, Ming and Qing dynasties)

 

Hundle

Anneeth Kaur Hundle
ahundle@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Presidential Chair of Sikh Studies and Assistant Professor of Anthropology
Interests: Religious Studies, Sikh Studies; African and South Asian diaspora studies;, Afro-Asianism; citizenship, race and decolonization; , minoritization and community formation; postcolonial and transnational feminisms, gender and sexuality; university studies; , Uganda, East Africa, Indian Ocean, global south

 

Karanika

Andromache Karanika
karanika@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Department Chair and Associate Professor of Classics
Interests: Religious Studies (Greek epic poetry, Greek lyric, folklore)

 

Klein

Susan Blakeley Klein
sbklein@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of Japanese Studies
Interests: Religious Studies (premodern and modern theater and dance, Japanese religions, feminist critical theory)

 

Jeffrey Kopstein

Jeffrey Kopstein
kopstein@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Department Chair and Professor of Political Science
Interests: Religious Studies

 

Lee

James K. Lee
jkl@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of Asian American Studies
Interests: Culture and Theory; Religious Studies (Asian American literature and culture, contemporary U.S. literature, race and ethnic studies, urban studies, religious studies)

Lehmann

Matthias Lehmann
mlehmann@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor and Teller Family Chair of History & Director of the Center for Jewish Studies
Interests: Modern Jewish history, Sephardic studies

 

LeVine

Mark LeVine
mlevine@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of History
Interests: Culture and Theory; Religious Studies (modern Middle Eastern history, Islamic studies, histories of empire and globalization)

 

Lewis

Jayne Elizabeth Lewis
jelewis@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of English
Interests: Religious Studies (literature and medicine, restoration and 18th century British literature, literature of the supernatural and gothic fiction, history and/of fiction, atmosphere as literary concept and construct within natural philosophy)

 

Lupton

Julia R. Lupton
jrlupton@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Associate Dean for Research and Professor of English
Interests: Comparative Literature; Education; Religious Studies (Renaissance literature, literature and psychology)

 

Lynch

Cecelia M. Lynch
clynch@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of Political Science
Interests: Religious Studies (international relations, religion and ethics; social movements and civil society actors; humanitarianism)

 

JB Manchak

JB Manchak
jmanchak@uci.edu
View Faculty Website

Professor of Logic and Philosophy of Science
Interests: Religious Studies

 

 

Michael McBride

Michael McBride
mcbride@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of Economics
Interests: Logic and Philosophy of Science; Religious Studies

 

McLoughlin

Nancy Ann McLoughlin
nmclough@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Director of Humanities Honors Program and Associate Professor of History
Interests: European Languages and Studies; Religious Studies (late Medieval Europe, intellectual history, gender)

 

Pantelia

Maria C. Pantelia
mcpantel@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of Classics & Director of Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
Interests: Religious Studies (Greek epic, Hellenistic poetry, digital technologies in the humanities)

 

Patel

Alka Patel
alkap@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

 Professor of Art History
Interests: History; Religious Studies;, Visual Studies (South Asian and Islamic art and architecture, historiographies, Islamic diasporas in Cuba)

 

Powell

Amy Powell
amy.powell@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Associate Professor of Art History
Interests: European Languages and Studies; Religious Studies; , Visual Studies (Late medieval and early modern art of northern Europe, critical theory)

 

Adrian Preda

Adrian Preda
apreda@hs.uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of Clinical Psychiatry, Psychiatry & Human Behavior
Interests: schizophrenia, Alzheimer's dementia, clinical trials methodology

 

Renee J. Raphael

Renee J. Raphael
renee.raphael@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Associate Professor of History
Interests: Early modern history of science and technology, history of the book and its readers, history of archives and bureaucracy

 

 

Richardson

Gary Richardson
garyr@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of Economics
Interests: European Languages and Studies; Religious Studies

 

Ryan

Michael Ryan
mryan@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of English
Interests: Religious Studies (American literature, creative writing, poetry, poetics, autobiography)

 

Anteater Professor

Victoria A. Silver
vasilver@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of English
Interests: Early Modern Literature and Culture; Religious Studies; History and Theory of Rhetoric; Literature and Philosophy

 

Smith

John H. Smith
jhsmith@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of Comparative Literature
Interests: Eighteenth- to twentieth-century literature, philosophy, and intellectual history; literary theory

 

Ian Straughn

Ian Straughn
ian.straughn@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Assistant Professor of Teaching of Anthropology
Interests: Religious Studies

 Published Books

 

Tinsley

Elizabeth Tinsley
etinsley@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Assistant Professor of Buddhist Studies
Interests: Buddhism, East Asian Religions, Anthropology of Religion, Art History (Asia), Japanese Tantric/Esoteric Buddhism, Ritual practice, Kami worship, Buddhist/religious visual cultures, spirit possession

 

Varzi

Roxanne Varzi
rvarzi@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of Anthropology and Film & Media Studies
Interests: Anthropology, multi-modal and visual, Iran, Media, War, sound ethnography, Film studies, creative and experimental writing, experimental ethnography, theate
r

Joe McKenna smiling into the camera in a black and white photo

Joseph H. McKenna
mckenna@uci.edu 
Ph.D. Fordham University, Lecturer of History
Interests: Western belief and unbelief; 19th-century British freethought; History of the devil idea; History of the God idea.
Professor McKenna has been teaching at UCI since 1999 and received the School of Humanities Non-Senate Faculty Teaching Award in 2020–21

 

Bojan Petrovic looking into the camera

Bojan Petrovic
bojan.petrovic@uci.edu
Ph.D. University of California Irvine, Lecturer
Interests: Islam and politics, the status of Muslims in western democracies, religion in international relations, and ethnic and religious intra-state conflicts with a geographic focus in the Middle East, North Africa, Europe and Central Asia.

 

woman smiling

Carol M. Burke
cburke@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of English
Interests: Literary And Cultural Theory; Literary Journalism; New Media Studies

 

Chiampi

James T. Chiampi
jtchiamp@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of Italian, French & Italian
Interests: Italian Renaissance literature, Dante

 Published Books

Michael Fuller

Michael Fuller
mafuller@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of East Asian Studies
Interests: Chinese; Religious Studies (Chinese poetry and poetics, the cultural and intellectual contexts for poetry, aesthetic theory, linguistic issues in classical Chinese)

Kent

Bonnie D. Kent
bkent@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor, Philosophy
Interests: Ethics, Moral Psychology, Action Theory, Medieval Philosophy and Theology

 Published Books

Anteater Professor

Karen B. Leonard
kbleonar@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor Emerita of Philosophy
Interests: Social history of India, caste, ethnicity and gender, Asian-Americans in the United States

 

Mazumdar

Sanjoy Mazumdar
mazumdar@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

https://www.faculty.uci.edu/profile.cfm?faculty_id=2421
Interests: Environmental Design Research - Cultural Aspects, Environmental Psychology, Architecture, Planning, Organizational Studies, Work Environments, Home Environments, Ethnic Neighborhoods.

Miles

John Miles
milesj@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor Emeritus of English
Interests: Religion, literature, and international relations. Western scriptures (Jewish, Christian, Muslim) as literature. Religious poetry and music. Religion, science, and the environment.

                                 Published Books

Miles

Margaret Miles
mmmiles@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor Emerita of Art History
Interests: Religious Studies; Visual Studies (Greek and Roman art, archaeology)

 Published Books

Keith L. Nelson

Keith L. Nelson
klnelson@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor Emeritus of History
Interests: Religious Studies (international relations, America and the world, impact of war studies, pre-history)

 Published Books

Stokols

Daniel Stokols
dstokols@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor Emeritus of Psychological Science; Program in Public Health
Interests: Religion, literature, and international relations. Western scriptures (Jewish, Christian, Muslim) as literature. Religious poetry and music. Religion, science, and the environment.

Roger Walsh headshot

Roger Walsh
rwalsh@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor, Psychiatry & Human Behavior
Interests: Asian psychologies, Asian philosophies, Asian religions, Buddhism, ecology, meditation,exceptional psychological wellbeing, postconventional development, transpersonal psychology