Degrees

(click department name to expand)

Classics Ph.D.   

Contact Information

Linda Le
Department Manager
ttle@uci.edu
949-824-7254

Dr. Andromache Karanika
Director of Graduate Study
karanika@uci.edu

Applications have been SUSPENDED.

Comparative Literature Ph.D.   

Contact Information

Samuel Lahne
Graduate Program Coordinator
slahne@uci.edu

Dr. Adriana Johnson
Director of Graduate Study
adriana.johnson@uci.edu

Culture and Theory Ph.D.   

Contact Information

Arielle Hinojosa-Garcia
Assistant Director
hinojosa@uci.edu

Dr. Sora Han
Director of Graduate Study
sora.han@uci.edu

East Asian Studies Ph.D.   

Contact Information

Kristine Wang
Graduate Program Coordinator
kristine.wang@uci.edu

Dr. Bert Scruggs
Director of Graduate Study
bms@uci.edu

English, Masters   

Contact Info

DeeDee Nunez
Masters Graduate Administrator
dynunez@uci.edu

Dr. Oren Izenberg
Director of Graduate Study
o.izenberg@uci.edu

English M.F.A.   

Contact Information

Sandy Mueller
Graduate Administrator
slmuelle@uci.edu

Dr. Michelle Latiolais
Director of Graduate Study
latiolai@uci.edu

English Ph.D.   

Contact Info

Kassandra Ceja
Ph.D. Graduate Administrator
cejak@uci.edu

Dr. Annie McClanahan
Director of Graduate Study
annie.mcc@uci.edu

European Thought and Culture M.A.   

Contact Information

Samuel Lahne
Graduate Program Coordinator
slahne@uci.edu

Dr. John Smith
Director of Graduate Study
jhsmith@uci.edu

German Ph.D.   

Contact Information

Samuel Lahne
Graduate Program Coordinator
slahne@uci.edu

Dr. Kai Evers
Director of Graduate Study
kevers@uci.edu

History M.A., Ph.D.   

Contact Information

Samantha Engler
Graduate Program Coordinator
englers@uci.edu

Dr. Houri Berberian
Director of Graduate Study
houri.berberian@uci.edu

Philosophy Ph.D.   

Contact Information

Miriam Torres
Graduate Coordinator
mruvalc2@uci.edu

Dr. Duncan Pritchard
Director of Graduate Study
dhpritch@uci.edu

Spanish Ph.D.   

Contact Information

Courtney Hemenway
Graduate Program Coordinator
chemenwa@uci.edu

Dr. Jacobo Sefami
Director of Graduate Study
jsefami@uci.edu

Visual Studies Ph.D.   

Contact Information

Clara Quijano
Graduate Program Coordinator
quijanoc@uci.edu

Dr. Roland Betancourt
Director of Graduate Study
roland.betancourt@uci.edu

Emphases

The School of Humanities offers the following graduate emphases that may be pursued in conjunction with study toward any graduate degree.

Asian American Studies  

Contact Information

Arielle Hinojosa-Garcia
Assistant Director
hinojosa@uci.edu

Critical Theory   

Contact Information

Arielle Hinojosa-Garcia
Assistant Director
hinojosa@uci.edu

Feminist Studies   

Contact Information

Arielle Hinojosa-Garcia
Assistant Director
hinojosa@uci.edu

Latin American Studies   

Contact Information

Linda Le
Department Manager
ttle@uci.edu

Medical Humanities

Contact Information

Miriam Torres
Department Coordinator
mruvalc2@uci.edu

Visual Studies

Contact Information

Clara Quijano
Graduate Program Coordinator
quijanoc@uci.edu

Specializations

Ancient Iran and the Premodern Persianate World

Contact Information

Amy Fujitani
Director
afujitan@uci.edu

Dr. Matthew Canepa
Director of Graduate Study
matthew.canepa@uci.edu