Core Faculty

Our core faculty members have been awarded grants, teaching awards, and nationally competitive post-doctoral fellowships. Recognized as innovators in the field, the Department ’s core faculty have published in top university presses, contributed to foremost journals, and are regularly invited to give scholarly presentations at universities in the U.S. and around the world.

Our core faculty have affiliations with Anthropology, Asian American Studies, Comparative Literature, English, History, International Studies, Law, Theater, the Center for Biotechnology and Global Health Policy, and the Center for Global Peace and Conflict Studies. We are also affiliated with the Critical Theory Institute, the Center for Asian Studies, the Center for Ethnography, the Center for Global Peace and Conflict Studies, the Working Group on Law and Society, and the Science and Technology Studies Working Group. In addition, two new Working Groups in Middle East and African Studies and in Transnational and Transoceanic Networks were initiated in part by our faculty.

NameTitle/InterestEmail
Jonathan Alexander
Alexander
Chancellor's Professor of English & Informatics
Associate Dean, Division of Undergraduate Education
Editor, College Composition and Communication
611C Aldrich Hall
153 Krieger Hall
949-824-1955

Published Books
jfalexan@uci.edu
Victoria Bernal
Bernal
Professor, Department of Anthropologyvbernal@uci.edu
Michele Bratcher Goodwin
Goodwin
Chancellor's Professor, Department of Law
Faculty Website
mgoodwin@law.uci.edu
Laura Hyun Yi Kang
Kang
Professor of Gender & Sexuality Studies
Published Books
hykang@uci.edu
Brittnay Proctor-Habil
Proctor-Habil
Visiting Assistant Professor of Gender & Sexuality Studiesbproctor@uci.edu
Nasrin Rahimieh
Rahimieh
Howard Baskerville Professor of Humanities, Comparative Literature
Published Books
nasrin.rahimieh@uci.edu
Catherine Sameh
Sameh
Associate Professor of Gender and Sexuality Studies - Graduate Director
Published Books
csameh@uci.edu
Jeanne Scheper
Scheper
Department Chair and Associate Professor of Gender & Sexuality Studies
Published Books
jscheper@uci.edu
Jennifer Terry
Terry
Professor of Gender & Sexuality Studies - Undergraduate Director
Published Books
jterry@uci.edu
Heidi Tinsman
Tinsman
Professor, Department of History
Published Books
hetinsma@uci.edu