Our core faculty members have been awarded grants, teaching awards, and nationally competitive post-doctoral fellowships. Recognized as innovators in the field, the Department ’s core faculty have published in top university presses, contributed to foremost journals, and are regularly invited to give scholarly presentations at universities in the U.S. and around the world.

Our core faculty have affiliations with Anthropology, Asian American Studies, Comparative Literature, English, History, International Studies, Law, Theater, the Center for Biotechnology and Global Health Policy, and the Center for Global Peace and Conflict Studies. We are also affiliated with the Critical Theory Institute, the Center for Asian Studies, the Center for Ethnography, the Center for Global Peace and Conflict Studies, the Working Group on Law and Society, and the Science and Technology Studies Working Group. In addition, two new Working Groups in Middle East and African Studies and in Transnational and Transoceanic Networks were initiated in part by our faculty.

Name Title/Interest Email

Jonathan Alexander

Jonathan Alexander smiling
Chancellor's Professor of English & Informatics
Associate Dean, Division of Undergraduate Education
Editor, College Composition and Communication
611C Aldrich Hall
153 Krieger Hall
949-824-1955

 Published Books
jfalexan@uci.edu
Victoria Bernal
woman smiling
Professor, Department of Anthropology vbernal@uci.edu
Michele Bratcher Goodwin
woman smiling
Chancellor's Professor, Department of Law
 Faculty Website
mgoodwin@law.uci.edu
Laura Hyun Yi Kang
woman smiling
Professor of Gender & Sexuality Studies
 Published Books
hykang@uci.edu
Mahaliah Little
woman smiling
Assistant Professor of Gender & Sexuality Studies littlema@uci.edu
Rudo Mudiwa
woman smiling
Assistant Professor of Gender & Sexuality Studies rmudiwa@uci.edu
Nasrin Rahimieh
woman smiling
Howard Baskerville Professor of Humanities, Comparative Literature
 Published Books
nasrin.rahimieh@uci.edu
Catherine Sameh
woman smiling
Associate Professor of Gender and Sexuality Studies - Graduate Director
 Published Books
csameh@uci.edu
Jeanne Scheper
woman smiling
Department Chair and Associate Professor of Gender & Sexuality Studies
 Published Books
jscheper@uci.edu
Jennifer Terry
woman smiling
Professor of Gender & Sexuality Studies - Undergraduate Director
 Published Books
jterry@uci.edu
Heidi Tinsman
woman smiling
Professor, Department of History
 Published Books
hetinsma@uci.edu