Core Faculty

NameTitle/InterestEmail
Jonathan Alexander
Alexander
Chancellor's Professor of English & Informatics
Editor, College Composition and Communication (Sabbatical W19 and S19)
153 MKH
949-824-7397
Interests: Rhetorical Studies, New Media Studies
Published Books
jfalexan@uci.edu
Elizabeth Allen
Allen
Associate Professor of English
173 MKH
eallen@uci.edu
Interests: Medieval
Published Books
eallen@uci.edu
Jami Bartlett
Bartlett
Associate Professor of English
169 MKH
j.bartlett@uci.edu
Interests: Literary And Cultural Theory, Victorian
j.bartlett@uci.edu
Carol M. Burke
Burke
Professor of English
(Sabbatical W19)
143 MKH
Interests: Literary And Cultural Theory, New Media Studies, Literary Journalism
Published Books
cburke@uci.edu
Nahum Dimitri Chandler
Chandler
Professor of English
Professor of African American Studies
Professor of Comparative Literature
Professor of European Languages and Studies
Faculty Director, UCEAP Japan Programs (2018-2020)
Published Books
chandlen@uci.edu
Miles Corwin
Corwin
Professor of English
401 HIB
Interests: Literary Journalism
Published Books
corwinm@uci.edu
Alicia Cox
Cox
Assistant Professor of Comparative Literature
268 HIB
Interests: Native American and Indigenous studies, Gender and Sexuality Studies, Critical Race Studies, Autobiography, Literary and Cultural Theory
alicia.cox@uci.edu
Rebecca Davis
Davis
Associate Professor of English
Vice Chair of English
350 HIB
radavis@uci.edu
Interests: Medieval
Published Books
radavis@uci.edu
Christopher Fan
Fan
Assistant Professor of English
306 HIB
chris.fan@uci.edu
Amy Gerstler
Gerstler
Professor of English
(On Leave S19 through F19 – Guggenheim Fellowship)
308 HIB
agerstle@uci.edu
Interests: Poetics, Programs in Writing
Published Books
agerstle@uci.edu
Richard Godden
Godden
Professor of English
(Sabbatical F18)
163 KH
Interests: C20th and Contemporary American, Literary And Cultural Theory
Published Books
rgodden@uci.edu
Daniel M. Gross
Gross
Professor of English
Affiliated Faculty, Critical Theory Emphasis
346 HIB
(949) 824-1037
Interests: Rhetorical Studies, Restoration and Eighteenth Century
Published Books
dgross@uci.edu
Martin Harries
Harries
Professor of English
409 HIB
Interests: Literary And Cultural Theory, Renaissance
Published Books
martin.harries@uci.edu
Erika Hayasaki
Hayasaki
Associate Professor of English
403 HIB
ehayasak@uci.edu
Interests: Literary Journalism, New Media Studies
Published Books
ehayasak@uci.edu
Rebeca Helfer
Helfer
Associate Professor of English
402 HIB
Interests: Renaissance, Poetics, Literary And Cultural Theory
Published Books
rhelfer@uci.edu
Andrea Henderson
Henderson
Professor of English
400 HIB
Interests: Romanticism, Victorian
Published Books
akhender@uci.edu
Oren Izenberg
Izenberg
Associate Professor of English
(Sabbatical F18 and W19)
404 HIB
Interests: Poetics
Published Books
o.izenberg@uci.edu
Virginia Jackson
Jackson
Associate Professor of English
UCI Endowed Chair in Rhetoric and Communication
368 HIB
Interests: Literary And Cultural Theory, Poetics, C19th American, C20th and Contemporary American, Early American, Romanticism, Victorian
Published Books
vwjackso@uci.edu
Joseph Jeon
Jeon
Professor of English
473 HIB
jjjeon@uci.edu
Michelle Latiolais
Latiolais
Professor of English
Director of the MFA Programs in Writing
309 HIB
Interests: Programs in Writing
Published Books
latiolai@uci.edu
Rodrigo Lazo
Lazo
Professor of English
Professor of Comparative Literature
Director of Humanities Core Course
HG 3114
Interests: C20th and Contemporary American, C19th American
Published Books
rlazo@uci.edu
Jerry Won Lee
Lee
Associate Professor of English
301 HIB
Interests: Rhetorical Studies
Faculty Website
Published Books
jwl@uci.edu
Jayne Lewis
Lewis
Professor of English
162 MKH
Interests: Restoration and Eighteenth Century
Published Books
jelewis@uci.edu
Julia R. Lupton
Lupton
Professor of English
Associate Dean for Research, School of Humanities
Faculty Director, Illuminations: The Chancellor's Arts and Culture Initiative
1130 HG (Office)
jrlupton@uci.edu
Interests: Renaissance
Published Books
jrlupton@uci.edu
Theodore Martin
Martin
Associate Professor English
352 HIB
Published Books
theodore.martin@uci.edu
Annie McClanahan
McClanahan
Associate Professor of English
Director of Graduate Studies
302 HIB
Published Books
amcclana@uci.edu
Tyrus Miller
Miller
Dean of the School of Humanities and Professor of English and Art Historytyrus@uci.edu
Laura O'Connor
O'Connor
Associate Professor of English
144 MKH
Interests: C20th and Contemporary American, Anglophone and Postcolonial, C20th and Contemporary British, Poetics
Published Books
loconnor@uci.edu
Bradley Queen
Queen
Associate Teaching Professor
Director of Composition
314 HIB
Interests: Rhetorical Studies
bradley.queen@uci.edu
R. Radhakrishnan
Radhakrishnan
Distinguished Professor of English
Distinguished Professor of Comparative Literature
159 KH
Interests: Anglophone and Postcolonial, Literary And Cultural Theory, C20th and Contemporary American
Published Books
rradhakr@uci.edu
Hugh Roberts
Roberts
Associate Professor of English
Advisor for English Majors' Association (EMA)
372 HIB
Interests: Anglophone and Postcolonial, Romanticism, Poetics
Published Books
hroberts@uci.edu
Michael Ryan
Ryan
Distinguished Professor of English
(Sabbatical F18 and W19)
310 HIB
Interests: Programs in Writing, Poetics
Published Books
mryan@uci.edu
Barry Siegel
Siegel
Professor of English
Director of Literary Journalism
408 HIB
Interests: Literary Journalism
Published Books
bsiegel@uci.edu
Victoria Silver
Silver
Professor of English
Undergraduate Chair of English
118 KH
Interests: Renaissance
vasilver@uci.edu
James Steintrager
Steintrager
Professor of English
Professor of Comparative Literature
Professor of French
Director, UCI Critical Theory
174 KH (Office)
Interests: Restoration and Eighteenth Century, Literary And Cultural Theory
Published Books
jsteintr@uci.edu
Michael Szalay
Szalay
Professor of English
Chair of English
472 MKH
431 HIB (Chair's office)
(949) 824-6715 (Chair's Office)
Interests: C20th and Contemporary American, Literary And Cultural Theory
Published Books
mszalay@uci.edu
Ngugi wa Thiong'o
Thiong'o
Distinguished Professor of English
Distinguished Professor of Comparative Lit.
279 HIB
(949) 824-6722
Interests: Anglophone and Postcolonial
Published Books
ngugi@uci.edu
Hector Tobar
Tobar
Associate Professor of Chicano/Latino Studies and English
SST 365
949-824-8460
htobar@uci.edu
Irene Tucker
Tucker
Professor of English
348 HIB
irenet@uci.edu
Interests: Victorian
Published Books
irenet@uci.edu
Georges Van Den Abbeele
Van Den Abbeele
Professor of Comparative Literature and English
133 Krieger Hall
gvandena@uci.edu
Andrzej Warminski
Warminski
Professor of English
Associate Dean for Personnel, School of Humanities
500C KH (Office)
Interests: Romanticism, Literary And Cultural Theory
Published Books
ajwarmin@uci.edu
Amy Wilentz
Wilentz
Professor of English
410 HIB
Interests: Literary Journalism
Published Books
awilentz@uci.edu