Jonathan Alexander

Jonathan Alexander
jfalexan@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Chancellor's Professor of English & Informatics

Director, Humanities Core

Interests: Gender and Sexuality Studies, Language/Writing/Rhetoric, Film/TV/New Media, 20th- and 21st- Century American, Creative Writing, Literary Journalism

 

Elizabeth Allen

Elizabeth Allen
eallen@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of English

Interests: Medieval , Law and Literature, Religious Studies

 

Jami Bartlett

Jami Bartlett
j.bartlett@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Associate Professor of English

Interests: 19th-Century British, Novel Studies/Narrative Theory, Critical Theory

 

Srimayee Basu

Srimayee Basu McCall
srimayeb@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Assistant Professor of English

Interests: 18th- and 19th-Century American, African American Studies, Anglophone, Postcolonial, and Diasporic, Critical Theory

 

Alicia Carroll

Alicia Carroll
alicia.carroll@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Assistant Professor of Comparative Literature

Interests: Native American and Indigenous Studies, Critical Theory, Gender and Sexuality Studies

 

Nahum Dimitri Chandler

Nahum Dimitri Chandler
chandlen@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of English

Interests: 18th- and 19th-Century American, Critical Theory, African American Studies

 

Miles Corwin

Miles Corwin
corwinm@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of English

Interests: Literary Journalism

 

 

Rebecca Davis

Rebecca Davis
radavis@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Associate Professor of English

Interests: Medieval , Poetry/Poetics, Religious Studies

 

 

Christopher Fan

Christopher Fan
chris.fan@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Assistant Professor of English

Interests: Asian American Studies / Global Asias, Anglophone, Postcolonial, and Diasporic, Film/TV/New Media, 20th- and 21st-Century American

 

Kyle Grady

Kyle Grady
kyle.grady@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Assistant Professor of English

Interests: Early Modern, African American Studies

 

 

Daniel M. Gross

Daniel M. Gross
dgross@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of English
Affiliated Faculty, Critical Theory Emphasis
Campus Writing & Communication Coordinator
Director, Center for Excellence in Writing & Communication

                                  Interests: Early Modern, Restoration and 18th-Century British, Critical Theory, Language/Writing/Rhetoric

 

Erika Hayasaki

Erika Hayasaki
ehayasak@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Associate Professor of English

Interests: Literary Journalism

 

 

Rebeca Helfer

Rebeca Helfer
rhelfer@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Associate Professor of English

Interests: Early Modern, Poetry/Poetics, Novel Studies/Narrative Theory

 

 

Andrea Henderson

Andrea Henderson
akhender@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of English

Interests: 19th-Century British, Poetry/Poetics

 

 

Oren Izenberg

Oren Izenberg
o.izenberg@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Associate Professor of English

Interests: 20th- and 21st-Century American, Poetry/Poetics, Critical Theory, 20th- and 21st-Century British

 

Virginia Jackson

Virginia Jackson
vwjackso@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of English
UCI Endowed Chair in Rhetoric and Communication

Interests: Poetry/Poetics, Critical Theory, 18th- and 19th-Century American, Gender and Sexuality Studies, African American Studies, 20th- and 21st-Century American

 

man smiling

Joseph Jeon
jjjeon@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of English
Graduate chair

 

Interests: Film/TV/New Media, 20th- and 21st-Century American, Asian American Studies / Global Asias

 

Michelle Latiolais looking at an angle

Michelle Latiolais
latiolai@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of English
Director of the MFA Programs in Writing

Interests: 20th- and 21st-Century American, 20th- and 21st-Century British, Creative Writing

 

man smiling

Rodrigo Lazo
rlazo@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of English
Professor of Comparative Literature

Interests: Chicanx/Latinx Studies, 18th- and 19th-Century American, 20th- and 21st-Century American

 

man smiling

Jerry Won Lee
jwl@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of English

Interests: Anglophone, Postcolonial, and Diasporic, Critical Theory, Asian American Studies / Global Asias, Language/Writing/Rhetoric

 

woman smiling

Jayne Lewis
jelewis@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of English

Interests: Restoration and 18th-Century British, 19th-Century British, Novel Studies/Narrative Theory, Religious Studies

 

Julia Reinhard Lupton

Julia R. Lupton
jrlupton@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Distinguished Professor, English

Interests: Shakespeare; Renaissance Literature; Religious Studies; Jewish Studies; Humanities and the Public Sphere; design and everyday life.

 

Theodore Martin

Theodore Martin
theodojm@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Associate Professor English
Vice Chair of English
Undergraduate Chair of English

Interests: 20th- and 21st-Century American, 20th- and 21st-Century British, Novel Studies/Narrative Theory, Film/TV/New Media, Critical Theory

Annie McClannahan smiling

Annie McClanahan
amcclana@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Associate Professor of English

Interests: 20th- and 21st-Century American, Novel Studies/Narrative Theory, Film/TV/New Media, Critical Theory

 

man smiling

Tyrus Miller
tyrus@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Dean of the School of Humanities and Professor of English and Art History

Interests: 20th- and 21st-Century British, Critical Theory

 

woman smiling

Valentina Montero Roman
monterov@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Assistant Professor of English

Interests: 20th- and 21st-Century American, Chicanx/Latinx Studies, African American Studies, Novel Studies/Narrative Theory, Gender and Sexuality Studies

 

man smiling

Cole Morgan
morganc2@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Assistant Professor of English

Interests: African American Studies, Anglophone, Postcolonial, and Diasporic, Film/TV/New Media, Novel Studies/Narrative Theory, Critical Theory

 

woman smiling

Laura O'Connor
loconnor@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Associate Professor of English

Interests: 20th- and 21st-Century British, Poetry/Poetics, Anglophone, Postcolonial, and Diasporic

 

man smiling

Bradley Queen
bradley.queen@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Associate Professor of Teaching
Director of Composition

Interests: 20th- and 21st-Century American, Language/Writing/Rhetoric, Law and Literature

 

man smiling

R. Radhakrishnan
rradhakr@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Chancellor's Professor, Humanities
Distinguished Professor of English and Comparative Literature

Interests: Critical Theory, Anglophone, Postcolonial, and Diasporic, Gender and Sexuality Studies, African American Studies, Poetry/Poetics, Asian American Studies / Global Asias

 

man smiling

Hugh Roberts
hroberts@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Associate Professor of English
                    Advisor for English Majors' Association (EMA)

                    Interests: Anglophone, Postcolonial, and Diasporic, Restoration and 18th-Century British, Poetry/Poetics

 

Black and white photo of Natalie Shapero looking at an angle

Natalie Shapero
nshapero@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Associate Professor of English

Interests: Poetry/Poetics, Creative Writing

 

 

man smiling

Barry Siegel
bsiegel@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of English
Director of Literary Journalism

Interests: Literary Journalism, Creative Writing

 

Victoria Silver
vasilver@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of English

Interests: Early Modern, Critical Theory, Religious Studies

 

man smiling

James Steintrager
jsteintr@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of English
Professor of Comparative Literature
Professor of French

                                  Interests: Restoration and 18th-Century British, Critical Theory, Gender and Sexuality Studies

 

man smiling

Michael Szalay
mszalay@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of English

Interests: 20th- and 21st-Century American, Critical Theory, Film/TV/New Media

 

 

man smiling

Ngugi wa Thiong'o
ngugi@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Distinguished Professor of English
Distinguished Professor of Comparative Lit.

Interests: Anglophone, Postcolonial, and Diasporic

 

man smiling

Hector Tobar
htobar@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of Chicano/Latino Studies and English

Interests: Literary Journalism, Chicanx/Latinx Studies, 20th- and 21st-Century American

 

woman smiling

Irene Tucker
irenet@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of English
Director of Graduate Studies

Interests: Restoration and 18th-Century British, 19th-Century British, Novel Studies/Narrative Theory

 

man smiling

Georges Van Den Abbeele
gvandena@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of Comparative Literature and English

Interests: 20th- and 21st-Century British, Critical Theory

 

 

man smiling

Andrzej Warminski
ajwarmin@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of English
Associate Dean for Personnel, School of Humanities

Interests: Critical Theory, 19th-Century British, Poetry/Poetics

 

Claire Vaye Watkins
cvwatkin@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of English

Interests: Creative Writing, Literary Journalism, Gender and Sexuality Studies

 

woman smiling

Amy Wilentz
awilentz@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of English

Interests: Literary Journalism

 

 

woman smiling

Monica Youn
myyoun@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Associate Professor of English

Interests: Poetry/Poetics, Creative Writing, Asian American Studies / Global Asias