Catherine Benamou

Catherine Benamou
cbenamou@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Associate Professor of Visual Studies, Film and Media Studies

Research Interests: Hispanophone and Lusophone cinema and television, U.S. Latino media, Orson Welles and maverick cinema, Transnational flows, Spectatorship, Cinematic memory and cultures of preservation

Roland Betancourt

Roland Betancourt
roland.betancourt@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Chancellor's Fellow and Professor of Art History; Religious Studies; Visual Studies
Interests: Byzantine and Medieval Art, Critical and queer theory, Histories of race, gender, and sexuality

 

Matthew Canepa

Matthew Canepa
matthew.canepa@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Presidential Chair in Art History and Archaeology of Ancient Iran; Director and Professor of the Graduate Program in Visual Studies
Interests: Achaemenid, Seleucid, Parthian, and Sasanian art and archaeology, Iranian visual cultures and Afro-Eurasian exchange, Critical approaches to space, place, landscape, urbanism, and memory

Bridget R. Cooks

Bridget R. Cooks
bcookscu@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of African American Studies; Art History; Culture and Theory; Visual Studies
Interests: African American art, Museum studies, Feminist and post-colonial theory

 

 

Sohail Daulatzai

Sohail Daulatzai
sdaulatz@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of Film and Media Studies; African American Studies; Visual Studies
Interests: African American Studies, Postcolonial Theory, Race, Hip Hop, Muslim Diasporas

 

Arcelia Gutierrez

Arcelia Gutierrez
arceliag@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Assistant Professor of Film and Media Studies, Visual Studies
Interests: Latinx media studies, media activism, media policy, industry studies

 

Bambi Haggins

Bambi Haggins
bhaggins@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies; Visual Studies
Interests: Comedy as social and political discourse, African American performance, Television history, Podcasting, African American studies, American studies, Cultural studies

Kristen Hatch

Kristen Hatch
khatch@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies
Interests: Classical Hollywood, Stardom, Melodrama, Histories of race, gender, and sexuality, Feminist Historiography, Cultural studies, Childhood studies

Lucas Hilderbrand

Lucas Hilderbrand
lucas.h@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of Film and Media Studies; Visual Studies
Interests: Queer studies, Cultural studies, Video, Pornography, Documentary, Popular music, Histories of technology, Cinema and media studies

Victoria E. Johnson

Victoria E. Johnson
vejohnso@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of Film and Media Studies; African American Studies, Culture and Theory and Visual Studies
Interests: Television studies [broadcast, cable, and digital history and theory], Sports media, Media policy, Cultural studies, Cultural geography, Critical race theory

Meryem Kamil

Meryem Kamil
mkamil@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Assistant Professor of Film and Media Studies, Visual Studies
Interests: new media studies, postcolonial studies, Palestine/Palestinian social movements, ethnic studies, american studies

 

Peter Krapp

Peter Krapp
krapp@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of Film and Media Studies; English; Informatics; Music; Visual Studies
Interests: Media History, Secret communications, Models and simulations, Game studies, History of computing, Film music, Title design, Media theories

Keiji Kunigami

Keiji Kunigami
akunigam@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

https://www.faculty.uci.edu/profile.cfm?faculty_id=6777
Interests: Brazilian Cinema, Japanese cinema, critical race studies, critical theory, decolonial theory, black/feminist film theory, cinematic/photographic temporality, Asian-Latin American Studies

Abigail Lapin Dardashti

Abigail Lapin Dardashti
alapinda@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Assistant Professor of Art History and Visual Studies
Interests: Modern and contemporary Latin American and Latino/a/x art and architecture, history of African diasporic art in Latin America, transnationalism, migration, racial formation, activism

Seungyeon Gabrielle Jung
s.g.jung@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Assistant Professor of Art History and Visual Studies
Ph.D. Brown University
Interests: Modern and contemporary Korean art and design, global design history, economic development and globalization, critical and media theory

Bliss Cua Lim

Bliss Cua Lim
flim@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of Film and Media Studies; Visual Studies
Interests: Philippine Cinema, Film archives, Cinematic and queer temporality, Queer Asian cinemas, Postcolonial and feminist film theory, Transnational horror and the fantastic

Catherine Liu

Catherine Liu
catherine.liu@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of Film and Media Studies; Comparative Literature; Visual Studies
Interests: Professor of Film and Media Studies; Comparative Literature; Visual Studies

 

Lyle Massey

Lyle Massey
lmassey@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Associate Professor of Art History; Visual Studies
Interests: Associate Professor of Art History; Visual Studies

 

man smiling

Tyrus Miller
tyrus@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Dean of the School of Humanities and Professor of English; Art History; Visual Studies
Interests: Modernist and avant-garde studies in literature and visual arts, Critical theory and aesthetics, Modern architecture and urbanism, East-Central European studies, Culture of socialism and post-socialism, Frankfurt School theory

Glen Mimura

Glen Mimura
gmimura@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies Studies; Visual Studies
Interests: Minoritarian and political film, Media and race, Popular culture and social movements

 

James Nisbet

James Nisbet
jnisbet@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Associate Professor and Chair of Art History; Visual Studies
Interests: Modern and Contemporary Art, theory, and historiography, Ecocriticism, Environmental history, History of modern science, History of photography

Alka Patel

Alka Patel
alka.patel@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of Art History; History; Religious Studies; Visual Studies
Interests: South Asian and Islamic art and architecture, eleventh-eighteenth centuries, Early modern Islamicate diasporas in Cuba, Modern historiographies

Philana Payton

Philana Payton
paytonp@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Assistant Professor of Film and Media Studies, Visual Studies
Interests: Black film and television history, black popular culture, performance studies, classical Hollywood, stardom, women and gender studies, black studies, queer studies

 

Allison Perlman

Allison Perlman
aperlman@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Associate Professor of History; Film and Media Studies; Visual Studies
Interests: Television studies, Brodcasting history, Media law and policy, Media activism, Media and popular memory, Media and American social movements

Fatimah Tobing Rony

Fatimah Tobing Rony
fatimah@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor and Chair of Film and Media Studies; Culture and Theory; Visual Studies
Interests: Ethnographic film, Race and representation, Film production, Biopolitics

 

Bonnie Ruberg

Bo Ruberg
bruberg@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies, Visual Studies
Interests: Digital media, Digital cultures, Digital Humanities, Queer studies, Gender and sexuality studies, Video games

 

Braxton Soderman

Braxton Soderman
asoderma@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies; Visual Studies
Interests: Game studies, New media, Digital aesthetics, Critical theory

 

Aaron Trammell

Aaron Trammell
trammell@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Assistant Professor of Informatics, Visual Studies
Interests: Analog games and Video games, Sound, Fan studies, Digital subjectivity

 

Bert Winther-Tamaki

Bert Winther-Tamaki
dewinthe@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of Art History; Visual Studies
Interests: Modern and contemporary Japanese art and visual culture, Asian American art, Ecocriticism

 

Roberta Wue

Roberta Wue
rwue@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Associate Professor of Art History; Visual Studies
Interests: Modern Chinese art, Photography, Print culture