Core Faculty

NameTitle/InterestEmail
Ermanno Bencivenga
Bencivenga
Professor of Philosophy and the Humanities
Interests: Logic, Ethics, Political Philosophy
Published Books
ebencive@uci.edu
Sven Bernecker
Bernecker
Professor of Philosophy
Interests: Epistemology, Philosophy of Mind, Metaphysics, Kant and German Idealism
Published Books
sberneck@uci.edu
Anna Boncompagni
Boncompagni
Assistant Professor
Interests: Social Epistemology, Wittgenstein, American Pragmatism
anna.boncompagni@uci.edu
Annalisa Coliva
Coliva
Chancellor's Professor / Department Chair
Interests: Epistemology, Philosophy of Mind and Language, History of Analytic Philosophy
Published Books
a.coliva@uci.edu
M. Oreste Fiocco
Fiocco
Associate Professor of Philosophy / Director of Undergraduate Programs
Interests: Metaphysics, Epistemology, Philosophy of Language, Meta-Ethics
mfiocco@uci.edu
Margaret Gilbert
Gilbert
Distinguished Professor
Co-Colloquium Coordinator/ Director, Melden Lecture Series
Interests: Philosophy of Social Phenomena, Social and Political Philosophy, Philosophy of Law, Action Theory, Collective Epistemology
Published Books
mpgilber@uci.edu
Sean Greenberg
Greenberg
Associate Professor / Scientia Workshop Coordinator
Interests: Early Modern Philosophy, Moral Psychology
greenbes@uci.edu
Jeffrey Helmreich
Helmreich
Assistant Professor of Philosophy and Law/ Co-Colloquium Coordinator
Interests: Ethics, Action Theory, Jurisprudence
jhelmrei@uci.edu
Aaron James
James
Professor of Philosophy
Interests: Ethics (foundations and moral theory), Political Philosophy
Published Books
ajjames@uci.edu
Casey Perin
Perin
Associate Professor of Philosophy
Interests: Ancient Philosophy, Philosophy of Action, Moral Psychology, 17th and 18th Century Philosophy
Published Books
cperin@uci.edu
Duncan Pritchard
Pritchard
Distinguished Professor of Philosophy / Director of Graduate Studies
Interests: Epistemology, Skepticism, Wittgenstein, Philosophy of Cognitive Science, Philosophy of Religion, Philosophy of Education, Philosophy of Law
Published Books
dhpritch@uci.edu
Karl Schafer
Schafer
Professor of Philosophy / Placement Coordinator
Interests: Ethics, Epistemology, Hume, Kant
schaferk@uci.edu
David W. Smith
Smith
Distinguished Professor of Philosophy
Interests: Phenomenology, Ontology, Intentionality, Husserl, philosophy of Mind, Philosophy of Language
Published Books
dwsmith@uci.edu

Affiliated Faculty

NameTitle/InterestEmail
Simone ChambersProfessor of Political Sciencesechambe@uci.edu
Brianne DonaldsonAssistant Professor of Religious Studiesb.donaldson@uci.edu
Jeremy HeisAssociate Professor of Logic and Philosophy of Sciencejheis@uci.edu
Penelope MaddyProfessor of Logic and Philosophy of Sciencepjmaddy@uci.edu
Marco PanzaVisiting Professor - Pantheon-Sorbonne University and Chapman Universitypanzam10@gmail.com
Kenneth SimonsChancellor's Professor of Lawksimons@law.uci.edu
Brian SkyrmsDistinguished Professor, Logic and Philosophy of Sciencebskyrms@uci.edu
Kyle StanfordProfessor of Logic and Philosophy of Sciencestanford@uci.edu
Kai WehmeierProfessor of Logic and Philosophy of Sciencewehmeier@uci.edu