Core Faculty

NameTitle/InterestEmail
Ermanno Bencivenga
Bencivenga
Professor of Philosophy and the Humanities
Research Interests: Logic, ethics, political philosophy
Published Books
ebencive@uci.edu
Sven Bernecker
Bernecker
Professor of Philosophy
Research Interests: Epistemology, Philosophy of Mind, Metaphysics, Kant and German Idealism
Published Books
s.bernecker@uci.edu
Annalisa Coliva
Coliva
Professor of Philosophy / Department Chair
Research Interests: Epistemology, Philosophy of mind and language, History of Analytic Philosophy
Published Books
a.coliva@uci.edu
M. Oreste Fiocco
Fiocco
Associate Professor of Philosophy / Director of Undergraduate Programs
Research Interests: Metaphysics, Epistemology, Philosophy of Language, Meta-Ethics
mfiocco@uci.edu
Margaret Gilbert
Gilbert
Distinguished Professor
Co-Colloquium Coordinator/ Director, Melden Lecture Series
Research Interests: Philosophy of social phenomena; social and political philosophy, philosophy of law, action theory, collective epistemology; theory of rational ch
Published Books
mpgilber@uci.edu
Sean Greenberg
Greenberg
Associate Professor / Scientia Workshop Coordinator
Research Interests: Early modern philosophy, moral psychology.
greenbes@uci.edu
Jeffrey Helmreich
Helmreich
Assistant Professor of Philosophy and Law/ Co-Colloquium Coordinator
Research Interests: Ethics, Action, Jurisprudence
jhelmrei@uci.edu
Aaron James
James
Professor of Philosophy
Research Interests: Ethics (foundations and moral theory), Political philosophy
Published Books
ajjames@uci.edu
Bonnie Kent
Kent
Professor of Philosophy
Research Interests: Ethics, Moral Psychology, Action Theory, Medieval Philosophy and Theology
Published Books
bkent@uci.edu
Casey Perin
Perin
Associate Professor of Philosophy
Research Interests: Ancient philosophy, philosophy of action, moral psychology, 17th & 18th century philosophy
Published Books
cperin@uci.edu
Duncan Pritchard
Pritchard
UC Chancellor's Professor of Philosophy / Director of Graduate Studies
Research Interests: Epistemology; Skepticism; Wittgenstein; Philosophy of Cognitive Science; Philosophy of Religion; Philosophy of Education; Philosophy of Law
dhpritch@uci.edu
Karl Schafer
Schafer
Professor of Philosophy / Placement Coordinator
Research Interests: Ethics, Epistemology, Hume, Kant
schaferk@uci.edu
David W. Smith
Smith
Professor of Philosophy
Research Interests: Phenomenology, Ontology, Intentionality, Husserl, Philosophy of mind, Philosophy of language.
Published Books
dwsmith@uci.edu

Affiliated Faculty

NameTitle/InterestEmail
Simone ChambersProfessor of Political Sciencesechambe@uci.edu
Marco PanzaVisiting Professor - Pantheon-Sorbonne University and Chapman Universitypanzam10@gmail.com
Kenneth SimonsChancellor's Professor of Lawksimons@law.uci.edu