Core Faculty

NameTitle/InterestEmail
Ackbar Abbas
Abbas
M.Phil., University of Hong Hong; Professor of Comparative Literature and Film and Media Studies
Interests: Globalization, Hong Kong and Chinese Culture, Postcoloniality, Critical Theory
Published Books
mabbas@uci.edu
Aijaz Ahmad
Ahmad
Chancellor's Professor of Comparative Literature
Interests: Critical Theory, World Literature, Marxism, Tricontinental Social Thought
aijaza@uci.edu
Eyal Amiran
Amiran
Ph.D., University of Virginia; Professor of Comparative Literature and Film and Media Studies
Interests: Twentieth-Century fiction, Postmodernism, Digital Media, Textual Theory
Published Books
amiran@uci.edu
Alicia Cox
Cox
Ph.D., University of California, Riverside; Assistant Professor of Comparative Literature
Interests: Native American and Indigenous studies, Gender and Sexuality Studies, Critical Race Studies, Autobiography, Literary and Cultural Theory
alicia.cox@uci.edu
Herschel Farbman
Farbman
Ph.D., Yale University; Associate Professor of Comparative Literature
Interests: Comparative Modernisms, Critical Theory, Psychoanalysis, Film and Media Studies
Published Books
hfarbman@uci.edu
David Theo Goldberg
Goldberg
Ph.D., City University of New York; Professor of Comparative Literature, Anthropology and Criminology, Law, and Society
Interests: South Africa, Race and Racism, Social and Political Theory, Legal Studies
Published Books
goldberg@uci.edu
Adriana M. Johnson
Johnson
Ph.D., Duke University; Associate Professor of Comparative Literature
Interests: Latin American literature, 19th- and 20th-century Latin America, Cultural and Postcolonial Studies
adrianaj@uci.edu
Catherine Malabou
Malabou
Ph.D., Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales: Philosophy. Professor of Comparative Literature and European Languages and Studies
Liron Mor
Mor
Assistant Professor, Comparative Literature School of Humanities
Interests: Literary and Critical Theory, Contemporary Israeli and Palestinian literature and film, Postcolonial Theories, Conflict; Sympathy, Questions of Translation and Literary Adaptation
morl@uci.edu
Jane O. Newman
Newman
Ph.D., Princeton University; Professor of Comparative Literature
Interests: 16th- and 17-century German literature, Contemporary Theory and Criticism, Feminism
Published Books
jonewman@uci.edu
Nasrin Rahimieh
Rahimieh
Ph.D., University of Alberta; Howard Baskerville Professor of Humanities, Comparative Literature, Chair, Comparative Literature
Interests: Modern Persian Literature and Culture, Translation, Exile, and Diaspora
Published Books
nrahimie@uci.edu
Beryl Schlossman
Schlossman
Doctorate, University of Paris 7 and Ph.D. The Johns Hopkins University
Interests: Film, Comparative Literature, Critical theory, Psychoanalysis, Poetics, Modernity
bschloss@uci.edu
Gabriele Schwab
Schwab
Ph.D., Univ. of Konstanz; UCI Chancellor’s Professor of English & Comparative Literature
Interests: Contemporary Comparative European and American Literatures, Indigenous Literatures, Critical Theory, Psychoanalysis, cultural theory and literary anthro
Published Books
gmschwab@uci.edu
Rei Terada
Terada
Ph.D., Boston University; Professor of Comparative Literature
Interests: Theory, History of Philosophy, 19th- and 20th-Century Poetry, Romanticism
Published Books
terada@uci.edu
Ngugi wa Thiong'o
Thiong'o
UCI Distinguished Professor of Comparative Literature and English and Director of the International Center for Writing and Translation
Interests: African and Caribbean Literatures, Theater and Film, Performance Studies, Cultural and Political Theory
Published Books
ngugi@uci.edu
Georges Van Den Abbeele
Van Den Abbeele
Ph.D., Cornell University; Dean of the School of Humanities and Professor of Comparative Literature
Interests: French and European philosophical literature, Travel Narrative and Tourism/Migration Studies, Critical Theory and Aesthetics
gvandena@uci.edu