Photo by Aaron Knox available under a Creative Commons Attri

 

Name  Title/Interest  Email

Nahum Dimitri Chandler

5965.jpg

 

Professor of African American Studies
Published Books

Research Interests: Modern Philosophy, Intellectual History, History of the Human Sciences

 chandlen@uci.edu

Bridget R. Cooks

5353.jpg

 

Associate Professor of African American Studies and Art History
Published Books

Research Interests: African American Art, Museum Studies, Feminist and Post-Colonial Theory

 b.cooks@uci.edu

Sora Han

picture of Sora Y. Han

 

Department Chair and Associate Professor of African American Studies and Criminology, Law, & Society. 
Published Books

Research Interests: Slavery and American Law; Critical Theory; Race, Gender, Sexuality Studies; Psychoanalysis

 sora.han@uci.edu

Sandra Harvey

6475.jpg

 

Assistant Professor of African American Studies and Director, Culture and Theory Ph.D. Program

Research Interests: Black diaspora and Native Studies, Post-colonial theory, Black feminist thought, Surveillance Studies, Visual and Cultural Studies, Enlightenment Philosophy, Political Theory

 slharvey@uci.edu

Douglas Haynes

2755.jpg

 

Professor of African American Studies
Published Books

Research Interests: Modern Britain, medicine and science in Europe and the United States in the 19th and 20th century

 dhaynes@uci.edu

Ulysses Jenkins

2634.jpg

 

Professor of African American Studies

Specialization: Video, Performance Art

 ujenkins@uci.edu

Victoria E. Johnson

picture of Victoria E. Johnson

 

Professor of African American Studies
Published Books

Research Interests: Critical History/Theory of U.S. Television and Film, Cultural Studies, Cultural Geography, Critical Race Theory, Sports Media, Sound & Music in Film/TV, Corporate Branding and Identity, Media Policy and Law, Communication Technology and Rural Access

 v.e.johnson@uci.edu

Jessica Millward

picture of Jessica  Millward

 

Associate Professor of African American Studies and History
 Faculty Website

Research Interests: Early America, Slavery & Gender, African Diaspora

 millward@uci.edu

John Murillo III

6474.jpg

 

Assistant Professor of African American Studies
Published Books

Research Interests: Early America, Slavery & Gender, African Diaspora

 murilloj@uci.edu

Zachary Price

 

Assistant Professor of African American Studies and Drama

Research Interests: Political, Economic, and Historical Conditions that shape Performance and Cultural Production

 zachary.price@uci.edu

R. Radhakrishnan

picture of Rajagopalan  Radhakrishnan

 

Chancellor’s Professor of Humanities and Distinguished Professor of English and Comparative Literature
Published Books

Research Interests: Critical Theory, Postcoloniality, Poststructuralism, Postmodernism, Cultural Critique, Nationalisms and Diasporas, Globalization, Ethnicity and Minority Discourse, Gender and Feminisms.

 rradhakr@uci.edu

Jared Sexton

5113.jpg

 

Professor of African American Studies
Published Books

Research Interests: Critical Theory, Race & Sexuality, Coalition Politics, Contemporary U.S. Cinema

 jcsexton@uci.edu

Darryl Taylor

5407.jpg

 

Professor of African American Studies
Published Books

Darryl Taylor’s performances have been noted for their compelling artistry and authority. His is an international career highlighted by performances of art song, opera and oratorio. His repertoire extends from Bach to Britten, and beyond.

 taylord@uci.edu

Frank B. Wilderson

5296.jpg

 

Professor of African American Studies
Published Books

Research Interests: Film theory, Marxism, Black Political Theory, Dramaturgy, and Cultural Studies

 fwilders@uci.edu

Tiffany Willoughby-Herard

picture of Tiffany  Willoughby-Herard

 

Associate Professor of African American Studies
Published Books

Research Interests: South Africa, Poor Whites, Race in Foreign Policy, Diaspora, Comparative Racial Politics, Black Political Thought, Third World Feminisms, Feminist Pedagogy, Decolonizing Theory, Comparative Political Theory, Community and Civic Engagement, Radical Thought

 twilloug@uci.edu