Participating Faculty

NameTitle/InterestEmail
Elizabeth Allen
Allen
Ph.D., University of Michigan; Associate Professor of English and of Comparative Literature
Faculty Website
Published Books
eallen@uci.edu
Nahum Dimitri Chandler
Chandler
Ph.D., Chicago; Professor of African American Studies and Comparative Literature
Interests: African American Studies, English literature, Comparative Literature, Modern Intellectual History, notably the history of the human sciences
Published Books
chandlen@uci.edu
Virginia Jackson
Jackson
Ph.D., Princeton University, 1995, Comparative Literature; Associate Professor of English and UCI Endowed Chair in Rhetoric and Communication
Published Books
vwjackso@uci.edu
Ketu Katrak
Katrak
Ph.D., Bryn Mawr College; Professor of Drama
Interests: Asian American literature, Postcolonial Studies, Women's Studies
khkatrak@uci.edu
Horacio Legras
Legras
Ph.D. Duke University, Associate Professor, Spanish and Portuguese and Comparative Literature
Interests: Latin American Literature
Faculty Website
Catherine Liu
Liu
Ph.D., University of California, Santa Barbara; Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies and Comparative Literature
Interests: Modernism, Cinema, Theory
Published Books
catherine.liu@uci.edu
Margherita Long
Long
Ph.D., Princeton University, East Asian Studies; Professor, East Asian Languages & Literature
Faculty Website
Published Books
Julia R. Lupton
Lupton
Ph.D., Yale University; Professor of English and Comparative Literature
Interests: Shakespeare, Renaissance Literature, Religious Studies, Humanities and the Public Sphere
Published Books
jrlupton@uci.edu
Carrie J. Noland
Noland
Ph.D., Harvard University; Professor of French and Comparative Literature
Interests: 20th-century French and Francophone literature and theory, European, American, and Caribbean modernism, Performance Studies
Published Books
cjnoland@uci.edu
Laura O'Connor
O'Connor
Associate Professor of English and Comparative Literature
Interests: Irish and Anglophone literature, Postcolonial studies, Modern and contemporary poetry
Published Books
loconnor@uci.edu
R. Radhakrishnan
Radhakrishnan
Ph.D., SUNY-Binghamton; Chancellor's Professor and Distinguished Professor of English, and Comparative Literature
Interests: Critical Theory, Postcolonialism, Globalization, Minority discourse
Published Books
rradhakr@uci.edu
John H. Smith
Smith
Ph.D., Princeton University; Professor of German and Comparative Literature
Interests: 18th- and 19th-century German literature and intellectual history, Literary Theory
Published Books
jhsmith@uci.edu
Jennifer Terry
Terry
Ph.D., University of Santa Cruz; Associate Professor of Gender and Sexuality Studies and Comparative Literature
Interests: Cultural studies, Science Studies, Sexuality
Published Books
jterry@uci.edu
Tiffany Willoughby-Herard
Willoughby-Herard
Associate Professor, African American Studies and Comparative Literature
Interests: South Africa, poor whites, Race in foreign policy, Diaspora, Comparative Racial Politics, Black political thought, Third world feminism, feminist pedagogy
Published Books
twilloug@uci.edu
Hu Ying
Ying
Ph.D., Princeton University; Associate Professor, East Asian Languages & Literature
Interests: Modern Chinese literature and culture, Translation Study, Feminist Theory
Published Books
huying@uci.edu