Core Faculty

NameTitle/InterestEmail
Elizabeth Allen
Allen
Ph.D. University of Michigan
Associate Professor of English
Interests: Middle English Literature and Reception, Exemplary and Didactic Literature, Ideas of Holiness, History of Emotion
Published Books
eallen@uci.edu
Luis Aviles
Aviles
Ph.D. Brown University
Associate Professor of Spanish and Portuguese
Interests: Renaissance and Baroque Spanish Literature, Literary Theory
Published Books
laviles@uci.edu
Alice BerghofPh.D. UCI
Lecturer, Humanities Core Course
Interests: Milton, Shakespeare, Augustine, Women Lyric Poets, Women and Science, History of Grammar, Art History
aberghof@uci.edu
Sharon Block
Block
Ph.D. Princeton University
Associate Professor of History
Interests: Early American Social and Economic History, Digital Humanities, Race & Sexuality
Published Books
sblock@uci.edu
James T. Chiampi
Chiampi
Ph.D. Yale University; Professor of Italian
Interests: Dante, Renaissance Epic and Pastoral, Modern Italian Novel, Italian Language
Published Books
jtchiamp@uci.edu
Touraj Daryaee
Daryaee
Howard C. Baskerville Professor of History in Iran and the Persionate World; Associate Director, Dr. Samuel M. Jordan Center for Persian Studies and Culture.
Ph.D. UCLA
Interests: Ancient History, Late Antiquity, Persianate World, Zoroast
Published Books
tdaryaee@uci.edu
Rebecca Davis
Davis
Ph.D., University of Notre Dame
Assistant Professor, Department of English
Old and Middle English literature; Piers Plowman; medieval religious culture; women's writing; medieval philosophy; nature and animals in literature.
Interests: Nationalism and National Identities, Nationalism and National Identities
Published Books
radavis@uci.edu
Peter Frei
Frei
Assistant Professor of French
Interests: Early Modern and Modern French Literature, Renaissance Culture, The Body and its Representations, The Politics of Literature
Faculty Website
Published Books
Michael Fuller
Fuller
Ph.D. Yale University; Associate Professor of Chinese
Interests: Classical Chinese Poetry and Poetics, The Cultural and Intellectual Contexts for Poetry, Aesthetic Theory, Linguistic issues in Classical Chinese
Published Books
mafuller@uci.edu
Zina Giannopoulou
Giannopoulou
PH.D. University of Illinois
Assistant Professor of Classics
Interests: Ancient Greek Philosophy, esp. Plato, Reception of Classical Antiquity in Modern and Contemp. Prose Literature, Ancient Greek Epic and Tragedy
Published Books
zgiannop@uci.edu
James B. Given
Given
Ph.D., Stanford University}Professor of History( Early Medieval Europe, social and political history)
Published Books
jbgiven@uci.edu
Sean Greenberg
Greenberg
Associate Professor of Philosophy: Leibniz, Malebranche, early modern philosophygreenbes@uci.edu
Daniel Gross
Gross
Associate Professor of English
Interests: History and Theory of Rhetoric, Early Modern Literature and Culture, Heidegger and Rhetoric
Published Books
dgross@uci.edu
Rebeca Helfer
Helfer
Ph.D. Columbia University
Associate Professor of English
Interests: Renaissance Literature, especially Spenser, History of Memory
Published Books
rhelfer@uci.edu
Ivette N. Hernández-Torres
Hernández-Torres
Ph.D Brown University
Associate Professor of Spanish and Portuguese
Interests: Colonial Latin America and Hispanic Caribbean Literature and Culture
Published Books
ivetteh@uci.edu
Lamar M. Hill
Hill
Ph.D. University of London
Professor of History
Interests: Tudor-Stuart England, Early Modern Europe
lmhill@uci.edu
Susan Jarratt
Jarratt
Ph.D. University of Texas, Austin
Professor of Comparative Literature and Campus Writing Director
Interests: Ancient Greek Rhetoric, Women and Gender in the History of Rhetoric
Published Books
sjarratt@uci.edu
Joseph JenkinsPh.D. UCLA; JD Boalt School of Law, UC Berkeley
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Education
Interests: English Legal History, Focusing on Inheritance Law and Royal Prerogative Jurisdictions
j.jenkins@uci.edu
Andromache Karanika
Karanika
Ph.D. Princeton University
Assistant Professor of Classics
Interests: Greek Epic and Lyric Poetry, Women in Antiquity, Oral Tradition and Folklore, Ancient Greek Religion
Published Books
karanika@uci.edu
Bonnie Kent
Kent
Ph.D. Columbia University
Professor of Philosophy
Interests: Medieval Ethics and Psychology, Conceptions of Virtue, Vice and Sin, Emotions and Moral Weakness, Controversies about Free Choice
Published Books
bkent@uci.edu
Susan B. Klein
Klein
Ph.D. Cornell University
Director of Religious Studies and Associate Professor of Japanese
Interests: Premodern and Modern Theater and Dance, Medieval Commentaries, Japanses Religions, New Historicism and Feminist Critical Theory
Published Books
sbklein@uci.edu
Jayne Lewis
Lewis
Ph.D. Princeton University, Professor of English
Interests: Restoration/Eighteenth Century British Literature, Natural Philosophy and the Supernatural, Early Modern Meteorology, Historical Fiction
Published Books
jelewis@uci.edu
Christophe Litwin
Litwin
Assistant Professor of French. Christophe Litwin joins us from Princeton University where he was a Fellow at the Society of Fellows in the Liberal Arts.
Interests: Early Modern French Literature and Culture
Faculty Website
Julia R. Lupton
Lupton
Ph.D. Yale University, Professor of English and Comparative Literature
Interests: Shakespeare, Renaissance Literature, Religious Studies, Jewish Studies, Humanities and the Public Sphere
Published Books
jrlupton@uci.edu
Lyle Massey
Massey
Director, Center for Early Cultures and Associate Professor of Art History and Visual Studies
Interests: Southern Renaissance and Early Modern Art History, Art and Science, Gender Studies, Phenomenology
Published Books
lmassey@uci.edu
Nancy McLoughlin
McLoughlin
Assistant Professor of History
Interests: Late Medieval Intellectual and Gender History
Published Books
nmclough@uci.edu
Margaret M. Miles
Miles
Ph.D. Princeton University
Associate Professor of Art History
Interests: Greek and Roman Art, Architecture and Archaeology
Published Books
mmmiles@uci.edu
Laura Mitchell
Mitchell
Ph.D., UCLA
Assistant Professor of History
Interests: African and Southern African History, Colonialism, Environment, Labor and Slavery, Families and Household Formation
Published Books
mitchell@uci.edu
Ian MunroPh.D. Harvard University
Associate Professor, Department of Drama, Bren School of the Arts
Interests: Shakespeare, Early Modern Theater and culture
Faculty Website
Jane O. Newman
Newman
Ph.D. Princeton University; Professor of Comparative Literature
Interests: Comparative Renaissance and Baroque Literary and Cultural Studies, Walter Benjamin and the Baroque, History and Theories of Comparative Literature, Afterlives of the Greeks
Published Books
jonewman@uci.edu
Rachel O'Toole
O'Toole
Ph.D. University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; Assistant Professor of History
Interests: Colonial Latin America, Indigenous Histories, Andrean Society, African Diaspora
Published Books
rotoole@uci.edu
Kevin Olson
Olson
Associate Professor, Political Science
Interests: Contemporary Political Theory, Insurgent and Popular Politics, Citizenship, Social Democracy, Cultural Politics, Poststructuralism, Critical Theory, 19th and 20th Century Political Theory
kvein.olson@uci.edu
Maria Pantelia
Pantelia
Ph.D. Ohio State University, Department Chair and Professor of Classics and Director, Thesaurus Linguae Graecae®
Interests: Greek Epic Poetry, Hellenistic Poetry, Computer Applications to Classics
Published Books
mcpantel@uci.edu
Amy Powell
Powell
Associate Professor, Art History
Interests: Art and Visual culture, 1300-1700
Published Books
amy.powell@uci.edu
Renee Raphael
Raphael
Assistant Professor of History
Interests: Early Modern History of Science, Early Modern European Intellectual and Cultural History, History of the Book and its Readers, Social and Visual Culture
Faculty Website
Published Books
renee.raphael@uci.edu
Bryan Reynolds
Reynolds
Ph.D. Harvard University
Professor and Head of Doctoral Studies in Drama, Bren School of the Arts
Interests: Shakespeare, Early Modern Theater and culture, Transversal Poetics
Faculty Website
breynold@uci.edu
Victoria Silver
Silver
Ph.D. University of California, Los Angeles
Associate Professor of English
Interests: Renaissance Studies, Feminist and Gender Studies, Cultural Studies and Criticism, History of Literary Theory, Histories and Theories of Rhetoric
vasilver@uci.edu
James Steintrager
Steintrager
Ph.D. Columbia University
Associate Professor of English and Comparative Literature
Interests: Eighteenth-Century English, French and German Literature and Aesthetics, Amatory, Erotic and Libertine Fiction
Published Books
jsteintr@uci.edu
Keith Topper
Topper
Associate Professor, Political Science
Interests: History of Political Thought and Political Theory, American Political Thought, Contemporary Political and Social Theory, Democratic Theory, The Philosophy of the Social Sciences, Theories of Power
ktopper@uci.edu
Andrew Zissos
Zissos
Assistant Professor of Classics
PhD Princeton University
Interests: Roman Literature and Culture, Classical Reception, Latin Epic
Published Books
pzissos@uci.edu