Visual Studies Core Faculty

NameTitle/InterestEmail
Eyal Amiran
Amiran
Ph.D. University of Virginia, Professor of Comparative Literature; Film and Media Studies; Visual Studies
Interests: Twentieth-century literature, Narrative and textual theory, Psychoanalysis, Modern and postmodern intellectual history
Published Books
amiran@uci.edu
Catherine Benamou
Benamou
Ph.D. New York University, Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies; Visual Studies
Interests: Hispanophone and Lusophone cinema and television, U.S. Latino media, Orson Welles and maverick cinema, Transnational flows, Spectatorship, Cinematic memory and cultures of preservation
Published Books
cbenamou@uci.edu
Roland Betancourt
Betancourt
Ph.D. Yale University; Chancellor's Fellow and Associate Professor of Art History and Visual Studies
Interests: Byzantine and Medieval Art, Critical and queer theory, Histories of race, gender, and sexuality
Published Books
roland.betancourt@uci.edu
Matthew Canepa
Canepa
Ph.D. University of Chicago, Elahé Omidyar Mir-Djalali Presidential Chair in Art History and Archaeology of Ancient Iran; Professor of Ph.D. Program in Visual Studies
Interests: Achaemenid, Seleucid, Parthian, and Sasanian art and archaeology, Iranian visual cultures and Afro-Eurasian exchange, Critical approaches to space, place, landscape, urbanism, and memory
Faculty Website
Published Books
matthew.canepa@uci.edu
Bridget R. Cooks
Cooks
Ph.D. University of Rochester; Associate Professor of African American Studies; Art History; Culture and Theory; Visual Studies
Interests: African American art, Museum studies, Feminist and post-colonial theory
Published Books
bcookscu@uci.edu
Sohail Daulatzai
Daulatzai
Ph.D. University of Southern California, Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies; African American Studies; Visual Studies
Interests: African American Studies, Postcolonial Theory, Race, Hip Hop, Muslim Diasporas
Published Books
sdaulatz@uci.edu
Aglaya Glebova
Glebova
Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley, Assistant Professor of Art History; Film and Media Studies; Visual Studies
Interests: History and theory of Photography and Film, European avant-garde, Russian and Soviet art
aglebova@uci.edu
Bambi Haggins
Haggins
Ph.D. UCLA, Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies; Visual Studies
Interests: Comedy as social and political discourse, African American performance, Television history, Podcasting, African American studies, American studies, Cultural studies
Published Books
bhaggins@uci.edu
Kristen Hatch
Hatch
Ph.D. University of California, Los Angeles, Director of the Graduate Program in Visual Studies and Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies
Interests: Classical Hollywood, Stardom, Melodrama, Histories of race, gender, and sexuality, Feminist Historiography, Cultural studies, Childhood studies
Published Books
khatch@uci.edu
James D. Herbert
Herbert
Ph.D. Yale University; Professor of Art History; Visual Studies
(on sabbatical 2018-2019)
Interests: Modern European art
Published Books
jdherb@uci.edu
Lucas Hilderbrand
Hilderbrand
Ph.D. New York University; Professor of Film and Media Studies; Visual Studies
Interests: Queer studies, Cultural studies, Video, Pornography, Documentary, Popular music, Histories of technology, Cinema and media studies
Published Books
lucas.h@uci.edu
Victoria E. Johnson
Johnson
Ph.D. University of Southern California; Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies; African American Studies, Culture and Theory and Visual Studies
Interests: Television studies [broadcast, cable, and digital history and theory], Sports media, Media policy, Cultural studies, Cultural geography, Critical race theory
Published Books
vejohnso@uci.edu
Peter Krapp
Krapp
Ph.D., University of California, Santa Barbara; Professor of Film and Media Studies; English; Informatics; Music; Visual Studies
Interests: Media History, Secret communications, Models and simulations, Game studies, History of computing, Film music, Title design, Media theories
Published Books
krapp@uci.edu
Bliss Cua Lim
Lim
Ph.D. New York University, Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies; Visual Studies
Interests: Philippine Cinema, Film archives, Cinematic and queer temporality, Queer Asian cinemas, Postcolonial and feminist film theory, Transnational horror and the fantastic
Published Books
flim@uci.edu
Catherine Liu
Liu
Ph.D., The Graduate Center, City University of New York; Professor of Film and Media Studies; Comparative Literature; Visual Studies
Interests: Hou Hsiao-hsien, Culture wars, Frankfurt School, Historiography of critical theory/cultural studies, Surveillance, Cold War Culture and Neoliberalism
Published Books
catherine.liu@uci.edu
Lyle Massey
Massey
Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles; Associate Professor of Art History; Visual Studies
Interests: Italian Renaissance and early modern European art, Gender Theory, Science Studies, Medical Humanities
Published Books
lmassey@uci.edu
Margaret M. Miles
Miles
Ph.D., Princeton University; Professor of Art History; Classics; Visual Studies
Interests: Archaeology, Greek and Roman Art
Published Books
mmmiles@uci.edu
Tyrus Miller
Miller
Ph.D. Stanford University, Dean of the School of Humanities and Professor of English; Art History; Visual Studies
Interests: Modernist and avant-garde studies in literature and visual arts, Critical theory and aesthetics, Modern architecture and urbanism, East-Central European studies, Culture of socialism and post-socialism, Frankfurt School theory
tyrus@uci.edu
Glen Mimura
Mimura
Ph.D., University of California, Santa Cruz; Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies Studies; Visual Studies
Interests: Minoritarian and political film, Media and race, Popular culture and social movements
Published Books
gmimura@uci.edu
James Nisbet
Nisbet
Ph.D., Stanford University; Associate Professor of Art History; Visual Studies
Interests: Modern and Contemporary Art, theory, and historiography, Ecocriticism, Environmental history, History of modern science, History of photography
Published Books
jnisbet@uci.edu
Alka Patel
Patel
Ph.D., Harvard University; Associate Professor of Art History; History; Religious Studies; Visual Studies
(on sabbatical Winter/Spring 2019)
Interests: South Asian and Islamic art and architecture, eleventh-eighteenth centuries, Early modern Islamicate diasporas in Cuba, Modern historiographies
Published Books
alka.patel@uci.edu
Allison Perlman
Perlman
Ph.D. University of Texas at Austin; Associate Professor of History; Film and Media Studies; Visual Studies
Interests: Television studies, Brodcasting history, Media law and policy, Media activism, Media and popular memory, Media and American social movements
Published Books
aperlman@uci.edu
Amy Powell
Powell
Ph.D., Harvard University; Associate Professor of Art History; European Languages and Studies; Religious Studies; Visual Studies
Interests: Late Medieval and early modern art of Northern Europe, Critical Theory
Published Books
amy.powell@uci.edu
Fatimah Tobing Rony
Rony
Ph.D., Yale University; Professor of Film and Media Studies; Culture and Theory; Visual Studies
Interests: Ethnographic film, Race and representation, Film production, Biopolitics
Published Books
fatimah@uci.edu
Bonnie Ruberg
Ruberg
Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley, Assistant Professor of Informatics, Visual Studies
Interests: Digital media, Digital cultures, Digital Humanities, Queer studies, Gender and sexuality studies, Video games
Faculty Website
bruberg@uci.edu
Braxton Soderman
Soderman
Ph.D., Brown University; Assistant Professor of Film and Media Studies; Visual Studies
Interests: Game studies, New media, Digital aesthetics, Critical theory
asoderma@uci.edu
Aaron Trammell
Trammell
Ph.D. Rutgers University, Assistant Professor of Informatics, Visual Studies
Interests: Analog games and Video games, Sound, Fan studies, Digital subjectivity
Faculty Website
trammell@uci.edu
Cécile Whiting
Whiting
Ph.D., Stanford University; Chancellor's Professor of Art History; Visual Studies
(on sabbatical 2018-2019)
Interests: American Art, 20th-Century visual culture
Published Books
cwhiting@uci.edu
Bert Winther-Tamaki
Winther-Tamaki
Ph.D. New York University; Professor and Chair of Art History; Visual Studies
Interests: Modern and contemporary Japanese art and visual culture, Asian American art, Ecocriticism
Published Books
dewinthe@uci.edu
Roberta Wue
Wue
Ph.D. New York University; Associate Professor of Art History; Visual Studies
Interests: Modern Chinese art, Photography, Print culture
Published Books
rwue@uci.edu