Visual Studies Core Faculty

NameTitle/InterestEmail
Eyal Amiran
Amiran
Ph.D. University of Virginia, Professor of Comparative Literature; Film and Media Studies; Visual Studies
Interests: Digital Media Theory, Twentieth-century literature, Comics and Vernacular art, Psychoanalysis
Published Books
amiran@uci.edu
Catherine Benamou
Benamou
Ph.D. New York University, Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies
Interests: U.S. Latino Media, Orson Welles and Maverick Cinema, Hispanophone and Lusophone Cinema and Television, Cinematic Memory and Cultures of Preservation
Published Books
cbenamou@uci.edu
Roland Betancourt
Betancourt
Ph.D., Yale University; Associate Professor of Art History
Interests: Byzantine and Medieval art, Critical Theory
Published Books
roland.betancourt@uci.edu
Matthew Canepa
Canepa
Ph.D., University of Chicago, 2004, Art History, Elahé Omidyar Mir-Djalali Presidential Chair in Art History and Archaeology of Ancient Iran
Faculty Website
Published Books
matthew.canepa@uci.edu
Bridget R. Cooks
Cooks
Associate Professor of African American Studies; Art History; Culture and Theory; Visual Studies
Published Books
bcookscu@uci.edu
Sohail Daulatzai
Daulatzai
Ph.D. University of Southern California, Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies; African American Studies
Interests: African American Studies, Postcolonial Theory, Race, Hip Hop, Muslim Diasporas
Published Books
sdaulatz@uci.edu
Aglaya Glebova
Glebova
Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley, Assistant Professor of Art History; Film and Media Studies; Visual Studies
Interests: History and theory of Photography and Film, European avant-garde, Russian and Soviet art
aglebova@uci.edu
Bambi Haggins
Haggins
Ph.D., UCLA, Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies
Interests: Black (African American) Comedy in Film, Television, Digital Media and Performance, Television History, Comedy as Social and Political Discourse, African-American Studies, American Studies
Published Books
bhaggins@uci.edu
Kristen Hatch
Hatch
Ph.D. University of California, Los Angeles, Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies; Visual Studies
Interests: American Film History, Stardom, Childood, Histories of Race, Gender and Sexuality, Melodrama
Published Books
khatch@uci.edu
James D. Herbert
Herbert
Ph.D., Yale University; Professor of Art History
(on sabbatical 2018-2019)
Published Books
jdherb@uci.edu
Lucas Hilderbrand
Hilderbrand
Ph.D., New York University; Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies
Interests: Queer Cultures and Media, Cultural Studies, Documentary, Pornography, Popular Music, Video Art, Histories of Technology
Published Books
lucas.h@uci.edu
Victoria E. Johnson
Johnson
Ph.D., University of Southern California; Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies
Interests: Television, Critical Race Theory, Sound, Media Policy, Sport
Published Books
vejohnso@uci.edu
Peter Krapp
Krapp
Ph.D., University of California, Santa Barbara; Professor and Chair of Film & Media Studies, English, and Informatics
Interests: Digital Culture, Media History, Cultural Memory
Published Books
krapp@uci.edu
Bliss Cua Lim
Lim
Ph.D. New York University, Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies
Interests: Philippine Cinema, Temporality and Film Archives, Postcolonial and Queer Feminist Film Theory, Transnational Horror and the Fantastic
Published Books
flim@uci.edu
Catherine Liu
Liu
Ph.D., CUNY Graduate Center; Professor of Film and Media Studies and Comparative Literature
Interests: Hou Hsiao-hsien, Culture Wars, Frankfurt School, Historiography of Critical Theory/Cultural Studies, Surveillance, Cold War Culture and Neoliberalism
Published Books
catherine.liu@uci.edu
Lyle Massey
Massey
Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles; Associate Professor of Art History
Interests: Italian and Renaissance and early modern European , Gender Theory, Science Studies
Published Books
lmassey@uci.edu
Margaret M. Miles
Miles
Ph.D., Princeton University; Professor of Art History
Interests: Archaeology, Greek and Roman Art
Published Books
mmmiles@uci.edu
Tyrus Miller
Miller
Ph.D. Stanford University, Dean of the School of Humanities and Professor of English; Art History; Visual Studies
Interests: Modernist and Avant-Garde Studies in Literature a, Critical Theory and Aesthetics, Modern Architecture and Urbanism
tyrus@uci.edu
Glen Mimura
Mimura
Ph.D., University of California, Santa Cruz; Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies Studies
Interests: Minoritarian and Political Film, Media and Race, Popular Culture and Social Movements
Published Books
gmimura@uci.edu
James Nisbet
Nisbet
Ph.D., Stanford University; Associate Professor of Art History and Director of VIsual Studies
(on sabbatical Winter/Spring 2019)
Interests: Modern and Contemporary Art
Published Books
jnisbet@uci.edu
Alka Patel
Patel
Ph.D., Harvard University; Associate Professor of Art History
(on sabbatical Winter/Spring 2019)
Interests: South Asian and Islamic art and architecture, Historiographies, Islamic diasporas in Cuba
Published Books
alka.patel@uci.edu
Allison Perlman
Perlman
Ph.D. University of Texas at Austin; Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies and History
Interests: History of Broadcasting, American Social Movements, Media Law and Policy, Media Activism, Popular Memory
Published Books
aperlman@uci.edu
Amy Powell
Powell
Ph.D., Harvard University; Associate Professor
Interests: Late Medieval and Early Modern Art of Northern Eur, Critical Theory
Published Books
amy.powell@uci.edu
Fatimah Tobing Rony
Rony
Ph.D., Yale University; Professor of Film and Media Studies
Interests: Ethnographic Film, Race and Representation, Film Production
Published Books
fatimah@uci.edu
Bonnie Ruberg
Ruberg
Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley, Professor of Informatics, Ph.D. Program in Visual Studies
Faculty Website
bruberg@uci.edu
Braxton Soderman
Soderman
Ph.D., Brown University; Assistant Professor of Film and Media Studies
(on sabbatical fall 2018)
Interests: Digital and New Media Studies, Video Games, Networks, Digital Art & Electronic Literature, Media Archaeology, Critical Theory
asoderma@uci.edu
Aaron Trammell
Trammell
Ph.D. Rutgers University, Professor of Informatics, Ph.D. Program in Visual Studies
Faculty Website
trammell@uci.edu
Cecile Whiting
Whiting
Ph.D., Stanford University; Professor of Art History
(on sabbatical 2018-2019)
Interests: American Art, 20th Century Visual Culture
Published Books
cwhiting@uci.edu
Bert Winther-Tamaki
Winther-Tamaki
Ph.D., Institute of Fine Arts, New York University; Professor and Chair of Art History
Interests: Modern Japanese Art, Asian-American art, Globalization
Published Books
dewinthe@uci.edu
Roberta Wue
Wue
Ph.D., Institute of Fine Arts, New York University; Associate Professor of Art History
Interests: 19th and 20th Century Chinese art, Photography
Published Books
rwue@uci.edu