Comparative Literature at UCI Faculty
Grafitti Image

Core Faculty

NameTitle/InterestEmail
Ackbar Abbas
Abbas
M.Phil., University of Hong Hong; Professor of Comparative Literature and Film and Media Studies
(globalization, Hong Kong and Chinese culture, postcoloniality, critical theory)
Published Books
mabbas@uci.edu
Eyal Amiran
Amiran
Ph.D., University of Virginia; Associate Professor of Comparative Literature and Film and
Media Studies
(twentieth-century fiction, postmodernism, digital media, textual theory)
Published Books
amiran@uci.edu
David Theo Goldberg
Goldberg
Ph.D., City University of New York; Professor of Comparative Literature, Anthropology and Criminology, Law, and Society
(South Africa, race and racism, social and political theory, and legal studies)
Published Books
goldberg@uci.edu
Adriana M. Johnson
Johnson
Ph.D., Duke University; Associate Professor of Comparative Literature
(Latin American literature, 19th- and 20th-century Latin America, cultural and postcolonial studies)
adrianaj@uci.edu
Arlene Keizer
Keizer
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 1996; Associate Professor of English, Comparative Literature and African American Studies
Published Books
akeizer@uci.edu
Jane O. Newman
Newman
Ph.D., Princeton University; Professor of Comparative Literature
(16th- and 17-century German literature, contemporary theory and criticism, feminism)
Published Books
jonewman@uci.edu
Nasrin Rahimieh
Rahimieh
Ph.D., University of Alberta; Howard Baskerville Professor of Humanities, Comparative Literature
(Modern Persian Literature and Culture, Translation, Exile, and Diaspora)
Published Books
nrahimie@uci.edu
Annette SchlichterPh.D., Humboldt University of Berlin; Associate Professor of Comparative Literature
(feminist theory and criticism, queer theory, contemporary American literature and culture)
Published Books
aschlich@uci.edu
Beryl Schlossman
Schlossman
Doctorate, University of Paris 7 and Ph.D. The Johns Hopkins University
(comparative literature, film, critical theory, psychoanalysis, poetics, modernity)
bschloss@uci.edu
Gabriele Schwab
Schwab
Ph.D., Univ. of Konstanz; UCI Chancellorís Professor of English & Comparative Literature
(contemporary comparative European and American literatures, indigenous literatures,
critical theory, psychoanalysis, cultural theory and literary anthropolo
Published Books
gmschwab@uci.edu
Rei Terada
Terada
Ph.D., Boston University; Professor of Comparative Literature (theory, history of philosophy,
19th- and 20th-century poetry, romanticism)
Published Books
terada@uci.edu
Ngugi wa Thiong'o
Thiong'o
UCI Distinguished Professor of Comparative Literature and English and Director of the
International Center
for Writing and Translation (African and Caribbean literatures, theater and film, performance
studies, cultural and political theory)
Published Books
ngugi@uci.edu
Georges Van Den Abbeele
Van Den Abbeele
Ph.D., Cornell University; Dean of the School of Humanities and Professor of Comparative
Literature
(French and European philosophical literature, travel narrative and tourism/migration studies; critical theory and aesthetics)
gvandena@uci.edu

Emeriti Faculty

NameTitle/InterestEmail
Etienne Balibar
Balibar
Docteur en philosophie, Katholieke Universiteit Nijmegen; Professor Emeriti of European Languages and Studies, and Comparative Literature (critical theory, political philosophy)
Published Books
ebalibar@uci.edu
Alexander Gelley
Gelley
Ph.D., Yale University; Professor Emeritus of Comparative Literature (18th- and 19th-century European novel, critical theory, narrative theory)
Published Books
agelley@uci.edu
Susan Jarratt
Jarratt
Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin; Professor of Comparative Literature, English, and
Education
(histories and theories of rhetoric; composition pedagogy and teacher preparation; feminist
theory and pedagogy)
Published Books
sjarratt@uci.edu
Juliet Flower MacCannell
MacCannell
Ph.D., Cornell University; Professor Emerita of Comparative Literature and English ( Rousseau, Freud, Lacan, Psychoanlysis and Cultural and Critical theory (film, art, architecture, law); Enlightenment to Modern French literature)jfmaccan@uci.edu
Steven Mailloux
Mailloux
Ph.D., University of Southern California; Professor Emeriti of English and Comparative Literature; Chancellor's Professor of Rhetoric
(History and Theories of Rhetoric; Contemporary Critical Theory; U.S. Cultural Studies)
Published Books
sjmaillo@uci.edu
J. Hillis Miller
Miller
Ph.D., Harvard University; Emeritus UCI Distinguished Research Professor of Comparative Literature and English (Victorian literature, critical theory)
Published Books
jhmiller@uci.edu
Margot Norris
Norris
Ph.D., State University of New York, Buffalo; Professor Emerita of English and Comparative Literature
(modern Irish, British, American and Continental modernism; literature and war)
Published Books
mnorris@uci.edu
John Carlos Rowe
Rowe
Professor Emeritus of Comparative Literature: Ph.D. State University of New York, Buffalo (American literature, modern literature, critical theory)
Published Books
jcrowe@uci.edu