Comparative Literature at UCI Faculty
Grafitti Image
NameTitle; Areas of Interest
Ackbar Abbas
mabbas@uci.edu
M.Phil., University of Hong Hong; Professor of Comparative Literature and Film and Media Studies
(globalization, Hong Kong and Chinese culture, postcoloniality, critical theory)
Eyal Amiran
amiran@uci.edu
Ph.D., University of Virginia; Associate Professor of Comparative Literature and Film and
Media Studies
(twentieth-century fiction, postmodernism, digital media, textual theory)
David Theo Goldberg
goldberg@uci.edu
Ph.D., City University of New York; Professor of Comparative Literature, Anthropology and Criminology, Law, and Society
(South Africa, race and racism, social and political theory, and legal studies)
Susan Jarratt
sjarratt@uci.edu
Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin; Professor of Comparative Literature, English, and
Education
(histories and theories of rhetoric; composition pedagogy and teacher preparation; feminist
theory and pedagogy)
Adriana M. Johnson
adrianaj@uci.edu
Ph.D., Duke University; Associate Professor of Comparative Literature
(Latin American literature, 19th- and 20th-century Latin America, cultural and postcolonial studies)
Jane O. Newman
jonewman@uci.edu
Ph.D., Princeton University; Professor of Comparative Literature
(16th- and 17-century German literature, contemporary theory and criticism, feminism)
Nasrin Rahimieh
nrahimie@uci.edu
Ph.D., University of Alberta; Professor of Comparative Literature and Director of the Center
for Persian Studies and Culture
(Modern Persian Literature and Culture, Translation, Exile, and Diaspora)
Annette Schlichter
aschlich@uci.edu
Ph.D., Humboldt University of Berlin; Associate Professor of Comparative Literature
(feminist theory and criticism, queer theory, contemporary American literature and culture)
Beryl Schlossman
bschloss@uci.edu
Doctorate, University of Paris 7 and Ph.D. The Johns Hopkins University
Gabriele Schwab
gmschwab@uci.edu
Ph.D., Univ. of Konstanz; UCI Chancellorís Professor of English & Comparative Literature
(contemporary comparative European and American literatures, indigenous literatures,
critical theory, psychoanalysis, cultural theory and literary anthropolo
Rei Terada
terada@uci.edu
Ph.D., Boston University; Professor of Comparative Literature (theory, history of philosophy,
19th- and 20th-century poetry, romanticism)
Ngugi wa Thiong'o
ngugi@uci.edu
UCI Distinguished Professor of Comparative Literature and English and Director of the
International Center
for Writing and Translation (African and Caribbean literatures, theater and film, performance
studies, cultural and political theory)
Georges Van Den Abbeele
gvandena@uci.edu
Ph.D., Cornell University; Dean of the School of Humanities and Professor of Comparative
Literature

NameTitle; Areas of Interest
Etienne Balibar
ebalibar@uci.edu
Docteur en philosophie, Katholieke Universiteit Nijmegen; Professor Emeriti of European Languages and Studies, and Comparative Literature (critical theory, political philosophy)
Alexander Gelley
agelley@uci.edu
Ph.D., Yale University; Professor Emeritus of Comparative Literature (18th- and 19th-century European novel, critical theory, narrative theory)
Juliet Flower MacCannell
jmaccann@uci.edu
Ph.D., Cornell University; Professor Emerita of Comparative Literature and English ( Rousseau, Freud, Lacan, Psychoanlysis and Cultural and Critical theory (film, art, architecture, law); Enlightenment to Modern French literature)
Steven J. Mailloux
sjmaillo@uci.edu
Ph.D., University of Southern California; Professor Emeriti of English and Comparative Literature; Chancellor's Professor of Rhetoric
(History and Theories of Rhetoric; Contemporary Critical Theory; U.S. Cultural Studies)
J. Hillis Miller
jhmiller@uci.edu
Ph.D., Harvard University; Emeritus UCI Distinguished Research Professor of Comparative Literature and English (Victorian literature, critical theory)
Margot Norris
mnorris@uci.edu
Ph.D., State University of New York, Buffalo; Professor Emerita of English and Comparative Literature
(modern Irish, British, American and Continental modernism; literature and war)
John Carlos Rowe
jcrowe@uci.edu
Professor Emeritus of Comparative Literature: Ph.D. State University of New York, Buffalo (American literature, modern literature, critical theory)