Core Faculty

NameTitle/InterestEmail
Chungmoo Choi
Choi
Ph.D. Indiana University, Associate Professor of Korean Culture (modern Korea, postcolonial and colonial discourse, popular culture, anthropology)
Published Books
cchoi@uci.edu
Michael Fuller
Fuller
Ph.D. Yale University, Department Chair and Professor of East Asian Languages and Literatures; Chinese (Chinese poetry and poetics, the cultural and intellectual contexts for poetry, aesthetic theory, linguistic issues in classical Chinese)
Published Books
mafuller@uci.edu
Martin Weizong Huang
Huang
Ph.D. Washington University, Professor of Chinese (traditional Chinese narrative, narrative theory, cultural history of late imperial China)
Published Books
mwhuang@uci.edu
Kyung Hyun Kim
Kim
Ph.D. University of Southern California, Professor of Korean Culture; Asian American Studies; Film and Media Studies (East Asian cinema, modern Korea, critical theory)
Published Books
kyunghk@uci.edu
Susan B. Klein
Klein
Ph.D. Cornell University, Professor of Japanese Literature and Culture (pre-modern and modern theater and dance, Japanese religions, feminist critical theory )
Published Books
sbklein@uci.edu
Margherita Long
Long
Ph.D. Princeton University, Associate Professor of Japanese (Japanese literature and film, ecocriticism, peace activism, feminist theory, eco-documentary)
Published Books
margherita.long@uci.edu
Bert ScruggsPh.D. University of Pennsylvania, Associate Professor of Chinese (Taiwan Studies, Environmental Studies, Postcolonial Studies)
Published Books
bms@uci.edu
Serk-Bae Suh
Suh
Ph.D. University of California, Los Angeles, Associate Professor of Korean (Modern Korean Literature)
Published Books
suhsb@uci.edu
Hu Ying
Ying
Ph.D. Princeton University, Graduate Faculty Advisor and Professor of Chinese; Comparative Literature (modern Chinese literature and culture, translation study, feminist theories)
Published Books
huying@uci.edu