Core Faculty

NameTitle/InterestEmail
Ackbar Abbas
Abbas
M.Phil., University of Hong Hong; Professor of Comparative Literature and Film and Media Studies (globalization, Hong Kong and Chinese culture, postcoloniality, critical theory)
Published Books
mabbas@uci.edu
Aijaz Ahmad
Ahmad
Chancellor's Professor of Comparative Literature (Critical Theory, World Literature, Marxism, Tricontinental Social Thought)aijaza@uci.edu
Eyal Amiran
Amiran
Ph.D., University of Virginia; Professor of Comparative Literature and Film and Media Studies (twentieth-century fiction, postmodernism, digital media, textual theory)
Published Books
amiran@uci.edu
Alicia Cox
Cox
Ph.D., University of California, Riverside; Assistant Professor of Comparative Literature (Native American and Indigenous studies; gender and sexuality studies; critical race studies; autobiography; literary and cultural theory)alicia.cox@uci.edu
David Theo Goldberg
Goldberg
Ph.D., City University of New York; Professor of Comparative Literature, Anthropology and Criminology, Law, and Society
(South Africa, race and racism, social and political theory, and legal studies)
Published Books
goldberg@uci.edu
Adriana M. Johnson
Johnson
Ph.D., Duke University; Associate Professor of Comparative Literature (Latin American literature, 19th- and 20th-century Latin America, cultural and postcolonial studies)adrianaj@uci.edu
Arlene Keizer
Keizer
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 1996; Associate Professor of English, Comparative Literature and African American Studies
Published Books
akeizer@uci.edu
Catherine Malabou
Malabou
Ph.D., Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales: Philosophy. Professor of Comparative Literature and European Languages and Studies
Liron Mor
Mor
Assistant Professor, Comparative Literature School of Humanities (Literary and critical theory; contemporary Israeli and Palestinian literature and film; postcolonial theories; conflict; sympathy; questions of translation and literary adaptation)morl@uci.edu
Jane O. Newman
Newman
Ph.D., Princeton University; Professor of Comparative Literature (16th- and 17-century German literature, contemporary theory and criticism, feminism)
Published Books
jonewman@uci.edu
Nasrin Rahimieh
Rahimieh
Ph.D., University of Alberta; Howard Baskerville Professor of Humanities, Comparative Literature, Chair, Comparative Literature
(Modern Persian Literature and Culture, Translation, Exile, and Diaspora),
Published Books
nrahimie@uci.edu
Annette SchlichterPh.D., Humboldt University of Berlin; Associate Professor of Comparative Literature (feminist theory and criticism, queer theory, contemporary American literature and culture)
Published Books
aschlich@uci.edu
Beryl Schlossman
Schlossman
Doctorate, University of Paris 7 and Ph.D. The Johns Hopkins University(comparative literature, film, critical theory, psychoanalysis, poetics, modernity)bschloss@uci.edu
Gabriele Schwab
Schwab
Ph.D., Univ. of Konstanz; UCI Chancellor’s Professor of English & Comparative Literature (contemporary comparative European and American literatures, indigenous literatures, critical theory, psychoanalysis, cultural theory and literary anthro)
Published Books
gmschwab@uci.edu
Rei Terada
Terada
Ph.D., Boston University; Professor of Comparative Literature (theory, history of philosophy, 19th- and 20th-century poetry, romanticism)
Published Books
terada@uci.edu
Ngugi wa Thiong'o
Thiong'o
UCI Distinguished Professor of Comparative Literature and English and Director of the International Center for Writing and Translation (African and Caribbean literatures, theater and film, performance studies, cultural and political theory)
Published Books
ngugi@uci.edu
Georges Van Den Abbeele
Van Den Abbeele
Ph.D., Cornell University; Dean of the School of Humanities and Professor of Comparative Literature (French and European philosophical literature, travel narrative and tourism/migration studies; critical theory and aesthetics)gvandena@uci.edu