Allen

Elizabeth Allen
eallen@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Associate Professor of English
Interests: Comparative Literature; Religious Studies (Chaucer, Gower, 15th century poetry; exemplary literature, romance, chronicle, episodic form; intersections between ethics and politics, politics and religion; hospitality, sovereignty, legal and constitutional history of England)

                                  Published Books

Bailey

Stanley Bailey
bailey@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of Sociology
Interests: Religious Studies (race and ethnicity, religion, immigration, Latin America)

 

Baum

Emily Baum
emily.baum@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Associate Professor of History
Interests: Modern China; history of medicine and psychiatry in China; comparative medical history; popular religion

 Published Books

Berberian

Houri Berberian
houri.berberian@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Director of the Armenian Studies Program and Meghrouni Family Chair in Armenian Studies and Professor of History
Interests: Modern Armenian and Middle Eastern History; revolution, women and gender

 Published Books

Bernal

Victoria Bernal
vbernal@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of Anthropology
Interests: Feminist theory, gender, civil society,globalization,cyberspace, transnationalism,the Islamic revival, peasants, labor migration, Africa, Muslim societies

Betancourt

Roland Betancourt
roland.betancourt@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Chancellor's Fellow and Associate Professor of Art History
Interests: Byzantine Art, Visual Culture, and Theology; Critical Theory; Queer Theory; Popular Culture; Theme Parks; Simulacral Spaces

                                   Published Books

Brown

Susan K. Brown
skbrown@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of Sociology
Interests: International migration, educational inequality, urban sociology

 

Burke

Carol M. Burke
cburke@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of English
Interests: Literary And Cultural Theory; Literary Journalism; New Media Studies

 Published Books

 

Canepa

Matthew Canepa
matthew.canepa@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Elahe Omidyar Mir-Djali Presidential Chair and Professor of Art History
Interests: Art and Archaeology of Persia and the Ancient Iranian World; Achaemenid, Seleucid, Arsacid, Sasanian empires; Hellenistic Iran and Central Asia; Eurasian late antiquity; cross-cultural interaction; critical theory

                                 Published Books

Jean-Paul Carvalho

Jean-Paul Carvalho
jpcarv@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Associate Professor of Economics
Interests: Logic and Philosophy of Science; Religious Studies

 

Chaturvedi

Vinayak Chaturvedi
vinayak@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

 Associate Professor of History
Interests: South Asia, Social and Intellectual History

 Published Books

Chen

Yong Chen
y3chen@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Associate Dean of Curriculum and Student Services and Professor of History
Interests: Asian American Studies; Religious Studies(Asian American history and immigration, food and culture, U.S./China economic and cultural interactions)

                                   Published Books

Choi

Chungmoo Choi
cchoi@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Associate Professor of Korean Culture
Interests: Religious Studies (modern Korea, postcolonial and colonial discourse, popular culture, anthropology)

 Published Books

Coller

Ian Coller
icoller@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of History
Interests: Religious Studies, History (Early Modern Europe and Islam, Middle East and North Africa, imperialism, race and religion in the revolutionary era)

                                    Published Books

Coutin

Susan B. Coutin
scoutin@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of Criminology, Law and Society
Interests: Religious Studies (law, culture, immigration, human rights, citizenship, political activism, sanctuary, Central America)

 

Daryaee

Touraj Daryaee
tdaryaee@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

UCI Endowed Chair in Persian Studies and Culture and Professor of History
Interests: Religious Studies (Iran, Zoroastrianism, Ancient Medieval World)

 Published Books

Davis

Rebecca Davis
radavis@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

https://www.faculty.uci.edu/profile.cfm?faculty_id=5638
Interests: Religious Studies (Old and Middle English literature, Piers Plowman, medieval religious culture, women’s writing, medieval philosophy)

                                    Published Books

Donaldson

Brianne Donaldson
b.donaldson@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Associate Professor, Philosophy and Religious Studies and Shri Parshvanath Presidential Chair in Jain Studies
Interests: Jainism, South Asian Religions and Philosophy, Ethics/Bioethics, Critical Animal Studies, Whitehead's Process-relational Philosophy

                                   Published Book

Fuller

Michael Fuller
mafuller@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of East Asian Studies
Interests: Chinese; Religious Studies (Chinese poetry and poetics, the cultural and intellectual contexts for poetry, aesthetic theory, linguistic issues in classical Chinese)

                                    Published Books

Greenberg

Sean Greenberg
greenbes@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Associate Professor of Philosophy
Interests: Religious Studies (history of early modern philosophy, moral psychology)

 

Guo

Qitao Guo
guoq@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Associate Professor of History
Interests: Religious Studies (social, cultural, and religious history of pre-modern China, Ming and Qing dynasties)

 Published Books

Hundle

Anneeth Kaur Hundle
ahundle@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Presidential Chair of Sikh Studies and Assistant Professor of Anthropology
Interests: Religious Studies, Sikh Studies; African and South Asian diaspora studies;, Afro-Asianism; citizenship, race and decolonization; , minoritization and community formation; postcolonial and transnational feminisms, gender and sexuality; university studies; , Uganda, East Africa, Indian Ocean, global south

                                   Published Books

Karanika

Andromache Karanika
karanika@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Department Chair and Associate Professor of Classics
Interests: Religious Studies (Greek epic poetry, Greek lyric, folklore)

 Published Books

Kheriaty

Aaron Kheriaty
akheriat@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Health Sciences Associate Clinical Professor of Psychiatry and Human Behavior
Interests: Religious Studies

 Published Books

Klein

Susan Blakeley Klein
sbklein@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of Japanese Studies
Interests: Religious Studies (premodern and modern theater and dance, Japanese religions, feminist critical theory)

 Published Books

Jeffrey Kopstein

Jeffrey Kopstein
kopstein@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Department Chair and Professor of Political Science
Interests: Religious Studies

 

Lee

James K. Lee
jkl@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Associate Professor of Asian American Studies
Interests: Culture and Theory; Religious Studies (Asian American literature and culture, contemporary U.S. literature, race and ethnic studies, urban studies, religious studies)

Lehmann

Matthias Lehmann
mlehmann@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor and Teller Family Chair of History & Director of the Center for Jewish Studies
Interests: Modern Jewish history, Sephardic studies

 

LeVine

Mark LeVine
mlevine@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of History
Interests: Culture and Theory; Religious Studies (modern Middle Eastern history, Islamic studies, histories of empire and globalization)

                                   Published Books

Lewis

Jayne Elizabeth Lewis
jelewis@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of English
Interests: Religious Studies (literature and medicine, restoration and 18th century British literature, literature of the supernatural and gothic fiction, history and/of fiction, atmosphere as literary concept and construct within natural philosophy)

                                 Published Books

Lupton

Julia R. Lupton
jrlupton@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Associate Dean for Research and Professor of English
Interests: Comparative Literature; Education; Religious Studies (Renaissance literature, literature and psychology)

Published Books

Lynch

Cecelia M. Lynch
clynch@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of Political Science
Interests: Religious Studies (international relations, religion and ethics; social movements and civil society actors; humanitarianism)

 

JB Manchak

JB Manchak
jmanchak@uci.edu
View Faculty Website

Professor of Logic and Philosophy of Science
Interests: Religious Studies

 

Mazumdar

Sanjoy Mazumdar
mazumdar@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor Emeritus of Urban Planning and Public Policy
Interests: Asian American Studies; Religious Studies

 

Michael McBride

Michael McBride
mcbride@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of Economics
Interests: Logic and Philosophy of Science; Religious Studies

 

McLoughlin

Nancy Ann McLoughlin
nmclough@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Director of Humanities Honors Program and Associate Professor of History
Interests: European Languages and Studies; Religious Studies (late Medieval Europe, intellectual history, gender)

 Published Books

Newman

Jane O. Newman
jonewman@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of Comparative Literature
Interests: Comparative Renaissance / Baroque Studies; Erich Auerbach; Benjamin and the Baroque; History and Theories of Comparative Literature; Cultural Studies and Criticism; Pre- and Early Modern Lessons for the Post-Modern Age; Translation Theory

Pantelia

Maria C. Pantelia
mcpantel@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of Classics & Director of Thesaurus Linguae Graecae
Interests: Religious Studies (Greek epic, Hellenistic poetry, digital technologies in the humanities)

 Published Books

Patel

Alka Patel
alkap@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

 Associate Professor of Art History
Interests: History; Religious Studies;, Visual Studies (South Asian and Islamic art and architecture, historiographies, Islamic diasporas in Cuba)

                                  Published Books

Powell

Amy Powell
amy.powell@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Associate Professor of Art History
Interests: European Languages and Studies; Religious Studies; , Visual Studies (Late medieval and early modern art of northern Europe, critical theory)

                                   Published Books

Adrian Preda

Adrian Preda
apreda@hs.uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of Clinical Psychiatry, Psychiatry & Human Behavior
Interests: schizophrenia, Alzheimer's dementia, clinical trials methodology

 

Renee J. Raphael

Renee J. Raphael
renee.raphael@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Assistant Professor of History
Interests: Early modern history of science and technology, history of the book and its readers, history of archives and bureaucracy

Published Books

 

Richardson

Gary Richardson
garyr@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of Economics
Interests: European Languages and Studies; Religious Studies

 

Ryan

Michael Ryan
mryan@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of English
Interests: Religious Studies (American literature, creative writing, poetry, poetics, autobiography)

 Published Books

Anteater Professor

Victoria A. Silver
vasilver@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of English
Interests: Early Modern Literature and Culture; Religious Studies; History and Theory of Rhetoric; Literature and Philosophy

 

Smith

John H. Smith
jhsmith@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor of Comparative Literature
Interests: Eighteenth- to twentieth-century literature, philosophy, and intellectual history; literary theory

 Published Books

Ian Straughn

Ian Straughn
ian.straughn@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Assistant Professor of Teaching of Anthropology
Interests: Religious Studies

 Published Books

 

Tinsley

Elizabeth Tinsley
etinsley@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Assistant Professor of Buddhist Studies
Interests: Buddhism, East Asian Religions, Anthropology of Religion, Art History (Asia), Japanese Tantric/Esoteric Buddhism, Ritual practice, Kami worship, Buddhist/religious visual cultures, spirit possession

 

Varzi

Roxanne Varzi
rvarzi@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Associate Professor of Anthropology and Film & Media Studies
Interests: Anthropology, multi-modal and visual, Iran, Media, War, sound ethnography, Film studies, creative and experimental writing, experimental ethnography, theater

 

Walsh

Roger Walsh
rwalsh@uci.edu
View Faculty Profile

Professor, Psychiatry & Human Behavior
Interests: Asian psychologies, Asian philosophies, Asian religions, Buddhism, ecology, meditation,exceptional psychological wellbeing, postconventional development, transpersonal psychology