Affiliated Faculty

NameTitle/InterestEmail
Elizabeth Allen
Allen
Associate Professor of English
Interests: Medieval Literature, Theories of Reception, Exemplary and Didactic Literature, Literature and Ethics, Literature and Affect, History of English Language, Old English
Published Books
eallen@uci.edu
Stanley Bailey
Bailey
Associate Professor of Sociology
Interests: Sociology of Religion, Race and Ethnicity, Comparative and International Perspectives, Mass Killings, Latin America, Border Studies
bailey@uci.edu
Emily Baum
Baum
Associate Professor of History
Faculty Website
Published Books
emily.baum@uci.edu
Houri Berberian
Berberian
Professor of History and Meghrouni Family Presidential Chair
Faculty Website
Published Books
houri.berberian@uci.edu
Victoria Bernal
Bernal
Associate Professor of Anthropology
Interests: Feminist Theory and Gender, Civil Society, Globalization, Cyberspace, Transnationalism, The Islamic Revival, Peasants, Labor Migration, Africa, Muslim Societies
vbernal@uci.edu
Roland Betancourt
Betancourt
Associate Professor of Art History
Interests: Medieval and Byzantine Art, Contemporary Popular Culture, Critical and Queer Theory
Published Books
roland.betancourt@uci.edu
Susan K. Brown
Brown
Associate Professor, Sociology
Interests: International Migration, Educational Inequality, Urban Sociology
skbrown@uci.edu
Carol M. Burke
Burke
Professor of English
Interests: Folk Belief, Folklore, Creative Non-Fiction
Published Books
cburke@uci.edu
Matthew Canepa
Canepa
Professor and Elahé Omidyar Mir-Djalali Presidential Chair
Faculty Website
Published Books
matthew.canepa@uci.edu
Jean-Paul CarvalhoAssociate Professor of Economics
Faculty Website
jpcarv@uci.edu
Vinayak Chaturvedi
Chaturvedi
Associate Professor of History
Interests: South Asia, Social and Intellectual History
Published Books
vinayak@uci.edu
Yong Chen
Chen
Associate Professor of History and Asian American Studies
Interests: Asian-American History, Late 19th and 20th Century American Social and Cultural History, Immigration History
Published Books
y3chen@uci.edu
James T. Chiampi
Chiampi
Professor of Italian
Interests: Italian Renaissance
Published Books
jtchiamp@uci.edu
Chungmoo Choi
Choi
Associate Professor of East Asian Languages & Literature
Interests: Modern Korea, Post-Colonial and Colonial Discourse, Marxism and Christianity, Popular Cultures and Anthropology
Published Books
cchoi@uci.edu
Susan B. Coutin
Coutin
Professor of Criminology, Law and Society & Associate Dean, Graduate Division
Interests: Immigration and Border Issues, Law, Central America, Political and Religious Activism, Human Rights, Sanctuary Movement
scoutin@uci.edu
Touraj Daryaee
Daryaee
Professor of History, Associate Director of the Samuel M. Jordan Center for Persian Studies
Interests: Ancient and Medieval Iran, Zoroastrianism and Manichaeism
Published Books
tdaryaee@uci.edu
Sohail Daulatzai
Daulatzai
Associate Professor
Faculty Website
Published Books
sdaulatz@uci.edu
Rebecca Davis
Davis
Assistant Professor of English
Interests: Old and Middle English literature, Piers Plowman, Medieval religious culture, Women’s writing, Medieval philosophy
Published Books
radavis@uci.edu
Michael Fuller
Fuller
Associate Professor of East Asian Languages & Literature
Interests: Classical Chinese Poetry and Poetics, The Cultural and Intellectual Contexts for Poetry, Aesthetic Theory, Linguistic Issues in Classical Chinese
Published Books
mafuller@uci.edu
Sean Greenberg
Greenberg
Associate Professor of Philosophygreenbes@uci.edu
Qitao Guo
Guo
Associate Professor of History
Interests: Social, cultural, and religious history of China in the Ming and Qing dynasties
Published Books
guoq@uci.edu
Anneeth HundleAssistant Professor of Anthropologyahundle@uci.edu
Andromache Karanika
Karanika
Associate Professor of Classics
Interests: Greek epic poetry, Greek Lyric Folklore
Published Books
karanika@uci.edu
Bonnie Kent
Kent
Professor of Philosophy
Interests: Ethics, Medieval philosophy and theology, Philosophy of Religion)
Published Books
bkent@uci.edu
Aaron Kheriaty
Kheriaty
Assistant Clinical Professor of Psychiatry & Human Behavior, Director of Residency Training and Medical Education
Interests: Medical Ethics, Spirituality and Mental Health, Psychiatric Education
akheriat@uci.edu
Susan B. Klein
Klein
Associate Professor of Japanese
Interests: Pre-modern and Modern Theater and Dance, Medieval Commentaries, Japanese Religions, New Historicism and Feminist Critical Theory
Published Books
sbklein@uci.edu
SueJeanne KohPostdoctoral Fellowsj.koh@uci.edu
Jeffrey KopsteinProfessor and Chair of Political Science
Faculty Website
kopstein@uci.edu
James Kyung-Jin Lee
Lee
Associate Professor of Asian American Studies and English
Interests: Contemporary US Literature, Urban Studies, Illness and Disability Studies, Asian American Religious Studies
jkl@uci.edu
Matthias Lehmann
Lehmann
Associate Professor of History and Teller Family Chair in Jewish History
Interests: Early Modern and  Modern Jewish history, Sephardic studies
Published Books
mlehmann@uci.edu
Mark LeVine
LeVine
Professor of History (modern Middle East and Islam; globalization; popular culture)
Published Books
mlevine@uci.edu
Jayne Lewis
Lewis
Professor of English
Interests: Restoration/18th century British Literature; natural philosophy and the superna
Published Books
jelewis@uci.edu
Julia R. Lupton
Lupton
Professor of English & Chancellor's Fellow
Interests: Shakespeare, Renaissance Literature, Religious Studies, Jewish Studies, Humanities and the Public Sphere
Published Books
jrlupton@uci.edu
Cecelia Lynch
Lynch
Professor of Political Science & Director of International Studies
Interests: International relations theory, Religion, ethics, and law, Humanitarianism and social movements
clynch@uci.edu
JB ManchakProfessor of Logic & Philosophy of Science
Faculty Website
jmanchak@uci.edu
Shampa MazumdarLecturer, Department of Sociology
Interests: Religion and Immigrant Communities, Sociology of Religion, Sacred Space
s2mazumd@uci.edu
Michael T. McBrideAssociate Professor of Economics (game theory; economics of religion; political economy of development; social networks; experimental economics)mcbride@uci.edu
Joseph McKenna
McKenna
Senior Lecturer, Department of History & Program in Religious Studies (history of Christianity,
theories of religion, secularism, skepticism, atheism, religious ethics)
mckenna@uci.edu
Nancy McLoughlin
McLoughlin
Assistant Professor of History (Late Medieval Intellectual and Gender History)
Published Books
nmclough@uci.edu
Jane O. Newman
Newman
Professor of Comparative Literature
Interests: Comparative Renaissance and Baroque Studies, including Reformation and Counter-R, Erich Auerbach, Walter Benjamin and Jewish Reception of Early Modern Christianit
Published Books
jonewman@uci.edu
Maria Pantelia
Pantelia
Professor of Classics and Director, Thesaurus Linguae Graecae®
Interests: Greek epic poetry, Hellenistic poetry, computer applications to classics
Published Books
mcpantel@uci.edu
Alka Patel
Patel
Associate Professor of Art History
Interests: Islam in Spain and North Africa, and its diaspora in the new world, Islamic art and architectural history of South Asia, 12th-18th centuries
Published Books
alkap@uci.edu
Amy Powell
Powell
Associate Professor of Art History
Interests: Northern European art and visual culture, 1300-1700; allegory, iconoclasm, unt
Published Books
amy.powell@uci.edu
Adrian PredaClinical Professor of Psychiatry and Human Behavior
Interests: Schizophrenia, Psychiatric Interview, Psychiatry and Spirituality
apreda@hs.uci.edu
Renee Raphael
Raphael
Associate Professor of History
Faculty Website
Published Books
renee.raphael@uci.edu
Gary Richardson
Richardson
Professor of Economics
Interests: Medieval economy and Religion, Economics and Immigration, Banking and the great depression
garyr@uci.edu
Michael Ryan
Ryan
Professor of English and Creative Writing
Interests: American literature; creative writing; poetry, poetics; autobiography
Published Books
mryan@uci.edu
Victoria Silver
Silver
Associate Professor of English
Interests: Renaissance Studies, Feminist and Gender Studies, Cultural Studies and Criticism, History of Literary Theory, Histories and theories of Rhetoric
Faculty Website
vasilver@uci.edu
John SmithProfessor of German
Faculty Website
jhsmith@uci.edu
Daniel Stokols
Stokols
Chancellor's Professor of Planning, Policy and Design; Psychology and Social Behavior;
Public Health
Interests: Theory development in environmental psychology and social ecology, Environmental design research
dstokols@uci.edu
Ian StraughnAssistant Professor of Teaching in Anthropology
Faculty Website
ian.straughn@uci.edu
Elizabeth Tinsley
Tinsley
Ph.D. Otani University (Kyoto), Assistant Professor of Buddhist Studies
Interests: Buddhism in East Asia, Japanese Buddhism, East Asian Religions, Buddhist Visual and Textual Cultures, Visual Theory
etinsley@uci.edu
Roxanne Varzi
Varzi
Associate Professor of Anthropology
Interests: Post-Revolution Iran, religion, media, youth culture, war
rvarzi@uci.edu
Roger Walsh
Walsh
Professor of Psychiatry and Human Behavior (Asian psychologies, philosophies, and religions; ecology; meditation; exceptional psychological well-being; post-conventional development)rwalsh@uci.edu