Contests and Awards

The Ina Coolbrith Memorial Poetry Prize was established by friends of the former California State Poet Laureate. Undergraduate winners are selected from all campuses of the University of California and students at the University of the Pacific, Mills College, Stanford University, the University of Santa Clara, and St. Mary's College.

Three submissions are chosen from undergraduate writing classes by committee.

The Ariel Miranda Caldwell Memorial Short Story Award

The Ariel Miranda Caldwell Memorial Short Story Award is named in memory of Ariel Miranda Caldwell, the daughter of Barbara Caldwell, staff member in the Department of English.

The Bret Baldwin Award in Poetry

Bret Baldwin was a graduate student when he died in 1996. In memory of his love for poetry, the family established awards of cash to be given to 1-3 registered undergraduate students who are writing poems. Deadlines are posted each spring by the English Department. Prizes are presented at the Writing Awards Event.

Winners of the Bret Baldwin Award in Poetry for 2018 (photo below): 

Caitlin Antonias

Misha Ponnuraju

Bret Baldwin Award Winners 2018