Congratulations to the Winners of the 2020-2021 UCI Writing Awards!

Department: English

Post Date: May 3, 2021

News Details

The UCI Office of the Campus Writing & Communication Coordinator, the Composition Program, the Humanities Core Course, and the Department of English, are thrilled to announce the winners of the 2020-2021 UCI Undergraduate Writing Contests.

The winners will be honored in a virtual Writing Awards Ceremony on Thursday, May 13, 2021, from 4:00 p.m. to 5:30 p.m. via Zoom. To attend, please register here.

The John Hollowell Composition Program Awards

Best Argument Project Award
Helen Sanchez
Instructor: Kat Eason, Lecturer, Department of English

Best Analysis Essay Award
Rachel Villamor
Instructor: Lorene Delany-Ullman, Lecturer, Department of English

Best Advocacy Essay Award
Elizabeth Wing-Yun Lui
Instructor: Anita Fischer, Lecturer, Department of English

The Nora Folkenflik Memorial Essay Awards

Best Essay in English 15
Christina Kevorkov
Instructor: Cole Morgan, Assistant Professor, Department of English

Best Essay in Humanities Core Course
Jonathan Le
Instructor: Larisa Castillo, Associate Professor of Teaching, Humanities Core

The Ariel Miranda Caldwell Memorial Short Story Award
Sierra Myer
Instructor: Michael Malpass, TA, Department of English

The Bret Baldwin Memorial Poetry Award
Chloe Low

The Undergraduate Award for Excellence in Poetry
First place: Bradley William Holder
Instructor: Timothy Melvin, TA, Department of English
Second place: Sarah Takayama Yang

The Howard Babb Memorial Essay Award
Bradley William Holder
Instructor: Rebeca Helfer, Associate Professor, Department of English

The Literary Journalism Writing Award
Margaret O’Hara
Instructor: Barry Siegel, Professor, Department of English and Director, Literary Journalism

The Scott Kaufman Memorial Writing Award
Samantha Newhall
Instructor: Patricia Pierson, Associate Director, Literary Journalism

The Upper-Division Writing Awards

Award for Excellent Upper-Division Academic Writing in Humanities and Arts
Brea Browne
Instructor: Annalisa Coliva, Professor and Chair, Department of Philosophy

Award for Excellent Upper-Division Academic Writing in Social Sciences and Social Ecology
Dora Cabrales Peña
Instructor: Alberto Morales, Assistant Professor, Department of Chicano/Latino Studies

Award for Excellent Upper-Division Academic Writing in Science and Technology
Sarah Wang
Instructor: Oladele A. Ogunseitan, University of California Presidential Chair and Professor, Department of Population Health and Disease Prevention

Award for Best Public or Professional Writing
Damilola Osinfolarin
Instructor: Sora Han, Associate Professor, Department of Criminology, Law & Society

For more information, please visit: