Visual Studies Core Faculty

NameTitle/InterestEmail
Eyal Amiran
Amiran
Eyal Amiran, Ph.D. University of Virginia, Professor of Comparative Literature; Film and Media Studies; Visual Studies (digital media theory, twentieth-century literature, comics and vernacular art, psychoanalysis)
Published Books
amiran@uci.edu
Catherine Benamou
Benamou
Ph.D. New York University, Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies (Hispanophone and Lusophone cinema and television, U.S. Latino media, Orson Welles and maverick cinema, cinematic memory and cultures of preservation) on sabbatical Fall 2017
Published Books
cbenamou@uci.edu
Roland Betancourt
Betancourt
Ph.D., Yale University; Assistant Professor of Art History (Byzantine and Medieval art, Critical Theory)
Published Books
roland.betancourt@uci.edu
Bridget R. Cooks
Cooks
Ph.D. University of Rochester, Associate Professor of African American Studies; Art History; Culture and Theory; Visual Studies (African-American art, museum studies, feminist and post-colonial theory)
Published Books
b.cooks@uci.edu
Sohail Daulatzai
Daulatzai
Ph.D. University of Southern California, Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies; African American Studies; (African American studies, postcolonial theory, race, hip hop, Muslim diasporas) on Sabbatical Fall 17 and Winter 18
Published Books
sdaulatz@uci.edu
Aglaya Glebova
Glebova
Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley, Assistant Professor of Art History; Film and Media Studies; Visual Studies (history and theory of photography and film, European avant-garde, Russian and Soviet art) on sabbatical 2017-18aglebova@uci.edu
Bambi Haggins
Haggins
Ph.D., UCLA, Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies (Black (African American) Comedy in Film, Television, Digital Media and Performance, Television History, Comedy as Social and Political Discourse, African-American Studies, American Studies)
Published Books
bhaggins@uci.edu
Kristen Hatch
Hatch
Kristen L. Hatch, Ph.D. University of California, Los Angeles, Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies; Visual Studies (American film history; stardom; histories of race, gender, and sexuality; childhood; melodrama)
Published Books
khatch@uci.edu
James D. Herbert
Herbert
Ph.D., Yale University; Professor of Art History (Modern European art, art and music, art and religion)
Published Books
jdherb@uci.edu
Lucas Hilderbrand
Hilderbrand
Ph.D., New York University; Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies (Queer Cultures and Media, Cultural Studies, Documentary, Pornography, Popular Music, Video Art, Histories of Technology)
Published Books
lucas.h@uci.edu
Victoria E. Johnson
Johnson
Ph.D., University of Southern California; Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies (Television, critical race theory, sound, media policy, sport)
Published Books
v.e.johnson@uci.edu
Peter Krapp
Krapp
Ph.D., University of California, Santa Barbara; Professor and Chair of Film & Media Studies, English, and Informatics (Digital culture, media history, cultural memory)
Published Books
krapp@uci.edu
Bliss Cua Lim
Lim
Ph.D. New York University, Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies; (Philippine cinema, temporality and film archives, postcolonial and queer feminist film theory, transnational horror and the fantastic) on sabbatical Winter 18
Published Books
flim@uci.edu
Catherine Liu
Liu
Ph.D., CUNY Graduate Center; Professor of Film and Media Studies and Comparative Literature (Hou Hsiao-hsien, culture wars, Frankfurt School, historiography of critical theory/cultural studies, surveillance, cold war culture and neoliberalism)
Published Books
catherine.liu@uci.edu
Lyle Massey
Massey
Ph.D., University of California, Los Angeles; Associate Professor of Art History (Italian Renaissance and early modern European art, gender theory, science studies)
Published Books
lmassey@uci.edu
Margaret M. Miles
Miles
Ph.D., Princeton University; Professor of Art History (Greek and Roman art, archaeology)
Published Books
mmmiles@uci.edu
Glen Mimura
Mimura
Ph.D., University of California, Santa Cruz; Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies Studies (Minoritarian and political film; media and race; popular culture and social movements.)
Published Books
gmimura@uci.edu
James Nisbet
Nisbet
Ph.D., Stanford University; Associate Professor of Art History and Director of VIsual Studies (Modern and contemporary art)
Published Books
jnisbet@uci.edu
Alka Patel
Patel
Ph.D., Harvard University; Associate Professor of Art History (South Asian and Islamic art and architecture, historiographies, Islamic diasporas in Cuba) on sabbatical 2017-18
Published Books
alka.patel@uci.edu
Allison Perlman
Perlman
Ph.D. University of Texas at Austin; Associate Professor of Film and Media Studies and History (History of broadcasting, American social movements, media law and policy, media activism, popular memory) on Sabbatical Fall 17 and Winter 18
Published Books
aperlman@uci.edu
Amy Powell
Powell
Ph.D., Harvard University; Associate Professor (Late medieval and early modern art of northern Europe, critical theory) on Sabbatical Fall 17
Published Books
amy.powell@uci.edu
Fatimah Tobing Rony
Rony
Ph.D., Yale University; Professor of Film and Media Studies (Ethnographic film, race and representation, film production)
Published Books
fatimah@uci.edu
Braxton Soderman
Soderman
Ph.D., Brown University; Assistant Professor of Film and Media Studies (Digital and New Media Studies, Video Games, Networks, Digital Art & Electronic Literature, Media Archaeology, Critical Theory)asoderma@uci.edu
Cecile Whiting
Whiting
Ph.D., Stanford University; Professor and Chair of Art History (American art, 20th century visual culture)
Published Books
cwhiting@uci.edu
Bert Winther-Tamaki
Winther-Tamaki
Ph.D., Institute of Fine Arts, New York University; Professor of Art History (Modern Japanese art, Asian-American art, globalization)
Published Books
dewinthe@uci.edu
Roberta Wue
Wue
Ph.D., Institute of Fine Arts, New York University; Associate Professor of Art History (19th and 20th century Chinese art, photography)
Published Books
rwue@uci.edu