Affiliated Faculty

NameTitle/InterestEmail
Elizabeth Allen
Allen
Associate Professor of English (medieval literature; theories of reception; exemplary and didactic literature; literature and ethics; literature and affect; history of English language; Old English)
Published Books
eallen@uci.edu
Francisco J. Ayala
Ayala
University Professor and Donald Bren Professor of Biological Sciences (Population
& Evolutionary Genetics; Origin of Species; Philosophy of Biology; the Interface between
Religion and Science)
fjayala@uci.edu
Stanley Bailey
Bailey
Associate Professor of Sociology (Sociology of Religion; Race and Ethnicity, Comparative and International Perspectives; Mass Killings; Latin America; Border Studies)bailey@uci.edu
Victoria Bernal
Bernal
Associate Professor of Anthropology (Feminist theory and gender; civil society, globalization, cyberspace, transnationalism; the Islamic revival; peasants, labor migration; Africa, Muslim societies)vbernal@uci.edu
Susan K. Brown
Brown
Associate Professor, Sociology (International migration, educational inequality, urban
sociology)
skbrown@uci.edu
Carol M. Burke
Burke
Professor of English (folk belief, folklore; creative non-fiction)
Published Books
cburke@uci.edu
Jean-Paul CarvalhoAssociate Professor of Economics
Faculty Website
jpcarv@uci.edu
Vinayak Chaturvedi
Chaturvedi
Associate Professor of History (South Asia, Social and Intellectual History)
Published Books
vinayak@uci.edu
Yong Chen
Chen
Associate Professor of History and Asian American Studies (Asian-American history; late-nineteenth and twentieth-century American social and cultural history; immigration history)
Published Books
y3chen@uci.edu
James T. Chiampi
Chiampi
Professor of Italian (Italian Renaissance)
Published Books
jtchiamp@uci.edu
Chungmoo Choi
Choi
Associate Professor of East Asian Languages & Literature (Modern Korea; post-colonial and colonial discourse; Marxism and Christianity; popular cultures and anthropology)
Published Books
cchoi@uci.edu
Susan B. Coutin
Coutin
Professor of Criminology, Law and Society & Associate Dean, Graduate Division
(immigration and border issues; law; Central America; political and religious activism;
human rights; sanctuary movement)
scoutin@uci.edu
Touraj Daryaee
Daryaee
Professor of History (Ancient and Medieval Iran, Zoroastrianism and Manichaeism, Associate
Director of the Samuel M. Jordan Center for Persian Studies)
Published Books
tdaryaee@uci.edu
Rebecca Davis
Davis
Assistant Professor of English (Old and Middle English literature; Piers Plowman; medieval religious culture; women’s writing; medieval philosophy)
Published Books
radavis@uci.edu
Michael Fuller
Fuller
Associate Professor and Chair of East Asian Languages & Literature (Classical Chinese
poetry and poetics; the cultural and intellectual contexts for poetry; aesthetic theory; linguistic
issues in classical Chinese)
Published Books
mafuller@uci.edu
Simcha Gross
Gross
Assistant Professor of Historysmgross@uci.edu
Qitao Guo
Guo
Associate Professor of History (social, cultural, and religious history of China in the Ming and Qing dynasties)
Published Books
guoq@uci.edu
Bonnie Kent
Kent
Professor of Philosophy (ethics; medieval philosophy and theology; philosophy of religion)
Published Books
bkent@uci.edu
Aaron KheriatyAssistant Clinical Professor of Psychiatry & Human Behavior, Director of Residency Training and Medical Education (Medical Ethics, Spirituality and Mental Health, Psychiatric Education)akheriat@uci.edu
Susan B. Klein
Klein
Associate Professor of Japanese (premodern and modern theater and dance; medieval commentaries; Japanese religions; new historicism and feminist critical theory)
Published Books
sbklein@uci.edu
James Kyung-Jin Lee
Lee
Associate Professor of Asian American Studies and English (Contemporary US literature, urban studies, illness and disability studies, Asian American religious studies)jim.lee@uci.edu
Matthias Lehmann
Lehmann
Associate Professor of History and Teller Family Chair in Jewish History (early modern and
modern Jewish history; Sephardic studies)
Published Books
m.lehmann@uci.edu
Mark LeVine
LeVine
Professor of History (modern Middle East and Islam; globalization; popular culture)
Published Books
mlevine@uci.edu
Jayne Lewis
Lewis
Professor of English (Restoration/18th century British Literature; natural philosophy and the
supernatural; early modern meteorology; historical fiction)
Published Books
jelewis@uci.edu
Julia R. Lupton
Lupton
Professor of English & Chancellor's Fellow (Shakespeare; Renaissance literature; religious
studies; Jewish studies; humanities and the public sphere)
Published Books
jrlupton@uci.edu
Cecelia Lynch
Lynch
Professor of Political Science & Director of International Studies (international relations theory;
religion, ethics, and law; humanitarianism and social movements)
clynch@uci.edu
Sanjoy Mazumdar
Mazumdar
Professor of Social Ecology (environmental design research: cultural aspects, environmental psychology; architecture, planning, organizational studies)mazumdar@uci.edu
Shampa MazumdarLecturer, Department of Sociology (Religion and Immigrant Communities, Sociology of
Religion, Sacred Space)
s2mazumd@uci.edu
Michael T. McBrideAssociate Professor of Economics (game theory; economics of religion; political economy of development; social networks; experimental economics)mcbride@uci.edu
Joseph McKenna
McKenna
Senior Lecturer, Department of History & Program in Religious Studies (history of Christianity,
theories of religion, secularism, skepticism, atheism, religious ethics)
mckenna@uci.edu
Nancy McLoughlin
McLoughlin
Assistant Professor of History (Late Medieval Intellectual and Gender History)
Published Books
nmclough@uci.edu
Margaret M. Miles
Miles
Professor of Art History (Greek and Roman art; architecture and archaeology)
Published Books
mmmiles@uci.edu
Jane O. Newman
Newman
Professor of Comparative Literature (Comparative Renaissance and Baroque Studies, including Reformation and Counter-Reformation history and political theory; Erich Auerbach, Walter Benjamin and Jewish Reception of Early Modern Christianity;
Published Books
jonewman@uci.edu
Maria Pantelia
Pantelia
Professor of Classics and Director, Thesaurus Linguae Graecae® (Greek epic poetry,
Hellenistic poetry, computer applications to classics)
Published Books
mcpantel@uci.edu
Alka Patel
Patel
Associate Professor of Art History (Islamic art and architectural history of South Asia, 12th-18th centuries; Islam in Spain and North Africa, and its diaspora in the new world)
Published Books
alka.patel@uci.edu
Amy Powell
Powell
Associate Professor of Art History (Northern European art and visual culture, 1300-1700;
allegory, iconoclasm, untimeliness, repetition, new media in historical perspective)
Published Books
amy.powell@uci.edu
Adrian PredaClinical Professor of Psychiatry and Human Behavior (schizophrenia, psychiatric interview,
psychiatry and spirituality)
apreda@hs.uci.edu
Gary Richardson
Richardson
Professor of Economics (medieval economy and religion; economics and immigration;
banking and the great depression)
garyr@uci.edu
Michael Ryan
Ryan
Professor of English and Creative Writing (American literature; creative writing; poetry, poetics; autobiography)
Published Books
mryan@uci.edu
Victoria SilverAssociate Professor of English (Renaissance studies; feminist and gender studies; cultural studies and criticism; history of literary theory; histories and theories of rhetoric)vasilver@uci.edu
Daniel StokolsChancellor's Professor of Planning, Policy and Design; Psychology and Social Behavior;
Public Health (theory development in environmental psychology and social ecology;
environmental design research)
dstokols@uci.edu
Roxanne Varzi
Varzi
Associate Professor of Anthropology (post-Revolution Iran, religion, media, youth culture, war)rvarzi@uci.edu
Roger WalshProfessor of Psychiatry and Human Behavior (Asian psychologies, philosophies, and religions; ecology; meditation; exceptional psychological well-being; post-conventional development)rwalsh@uci.edu