Core Faculty

NameTitle/InterestEmail
Emily Baum
Baum
Assistant Professor of History. Scholarly expertise: history of medicine and psychiatry in China, comparative medical history.emily.baum@uci.edu
Sven Bernecker
Bernecker
Professor of Philosophy and Co-Director of Medical Humanities
Published Books
s.bernecker@uci.edu
Annalisa Coliva
Coliva
Professor of Philosophy and Co-Director of Medical Humanities
Published Books
a.coliva@uci.edu
Erika Hayasaki
Hayasaki
Associate Professor of Literary Journalism. Scholarly expertise: medical and science narratives.
Published Books
ehayasak@uci.edu
Douglas Haynes
Haynes
Professor of History. Scholarly expertise: medicine and science in Europe and the United States in the 19th and 20th century.
Published Books
dhaynes@uci.edu
Andrew Highsmith
Highsmith
Assistant Professor of History. Scholarly expertise: Modern U.S. History, Urban, Race, and Health Inequality
Adria Imada
Imada
Associate Professor of History. Scholarly expertise: race and medicine and disability studies.
Published Books
James Kyung-Jin Lee
Kyung-Jin Lee
Associate Professor and Chair of Asian American Studies. Scholarly expertise: ethical and political dimensions of race and illness.jkl@uci.edu
Lyle Massey
Massey
Associate Professor of Art History. Scholarly expertise: visual art and science.
Published Books
lmassey@uci.edu
Lisa Naugle
Naugle
Professor and Chair of Dance. Scholarly expertise: Experiential learning of dance, improvisation and creative movement to encourage deeper, healthier, and more personal awareness of physical and cognitive abilities; somatic inquiry and practice.lnaugle@uci.edu
Jennifer Terry
Terry
Professor of Gender and Sexuality Studies. Scholarly expertise: science and technology studies, formations of sexuality.
Published Books
jterry@uci.edu