Affiliated Faculty

NameTitle/InterestEmail
Stanley Bailey
Bailey
Assistant Professor of Sociology
Race & Ethnicity, Sociology of Religion, Immigration, Latin America
bailey@uci.edu
Frank D. Bean
Bean
UCI Chancellor's Professor of Sociology and Economics
International Migration, Demography, Racial & Ethnic Relations, Economic Sociology, Family
fbean@uci.edu
Catherine Benamou
Benamou
Associate Professor, Film & Media Studies
Latin American and Latina/o Film & media, Transnational flows and diasporic spectatorship, Orson Welles, media ethnography and historical reconstruction
Published Books
cbenamou@uci.edu
Alex Borucki
Borucki
Director, Latin American Studies
Associate Professor in History
African Diaspora, Colonial Latin America, Early Modern Atlantic World
aborucki@uci.edu
Susan K. Brown
Brown
Assistant Professor of Sociology
International migration, educational inequality, urban sociology
skbrown@uci.edu
Belinda Campos
Campos
Assistant Professor, Chicano/Latino Studies
Culture, Relationships, Positive Emotion, Health
bcampos@uci.edu
Anita Casavantes Bradford
Casavantes Bradford
Associate Professor Chicano/Latino Studies
Transnational Comparative Latina/o History, Childhood, Immigration
Published Books
acasavan@uci.edu
Leo ChávezDirector of the Center for Research on Latinos in a Global Society and Professor of Anthropology
International migration, Latin American immigrants, medical anthropology, transnational communities, breast and cervical cancer beliefs, analysis of vis
lchavez@uci.edu
Louis Desipio
Desipio
Associate Professor, Chicano/Latino Studies, Political Science
Ethnic Politics, Latino Politics, Immigration, Naturalization, U.S. electoral politics
ldesipio@uci.edu
Cynthia Feliciano
Feliciano
Associate Professor, Chicano/Latino Studies
Race/Ethnicity/Minority Relations, Migration and Immigration, Education
felician@uci.edu
Glenda Flores
Flores
Assistant Professor of Chicano/Latino Studies
Latina/o Sociology; Immigration; Middle-Class Minorities; Race, Gender & Class; Education; Work and Occupations
gmflores@uci.edu
Ivette N. Hernández-Torres
Hernández-Torres
Associate Professor of Spanish
Latin American Colonial Literature & Caribbean Literature
Published Books
ivetteh@uci.edu
Winston A. James
James
Professor of History
Caribbean, African American History, African Diaspora
Published Books
wjames@uci.edu
Adriana M. Johnson
Johnson
Director, Global Cultures
Associate Professor of Comparative Literature
Brazil, Postcolonial Latin American literature, culture and film
adrianaj@uci.edu
Rodrigo Lazo
Lazo
Associate Professor of English
American Literature, Latino Studies, Nineteenth Century, Hemispheric American Studies, Immigrant/Migrant Fiction
Published Books
rlazo@uci.edu
Horacio Legras
Legras
Professor of Spanish
Latin American literature
hlegras@uci.edu
Viviane Mahieux
Mahieux
Associate Professor of Spanish
Modern and contemporary Latin American literature, with a focus on Mexico
Published Books
vmahieux@uci.edu
William Maurer
Maurer
Department Chair and Associate Professor of Anthropology
Anthropology of law; globalization; Caribbean; anthropology of money and finance; gender and kinship
wmmaurer@uci.edu
Michael J. Montoya
Montoya
Associate Professor of Anthropology and Chicano/Latino Studies
The creation of medical scientific knowledge on complex diseases and social inequity
mmontoya@uci.edu
Alejandro Morales
Morales
Professor of Chicano/Latino Studies and Spanish
Latin American and Chicano literature/film studies
amorales@uci.edu
Rachel O'Toole
O'Toole
Associate Professor of History
Colonial Latin America, African Diaspora, Gender & Sexuality
Published Books
rotoole@uci.edu
Ana Elizabeth Rosas
Rosas
Associate Professor, Chicano/Latino Studies, History
Chicana/o Comparative History, Immigration, Ethnicity
Published Books
arosas1@uci.edu
Vicki L. Ruiz
Ruiz
Professor of History and Chicano/Latino Studies
Chicana/o History, U.S. Women, Immigration
Published Books
vruiz@uci.edu
Rubén Rumbaut
Rumbaut
Professor of Sociologyrrumbaut@uic.edu
Armin Schwegler
Schwegler
Professor of Spanish
History of Spanish, historical linguistics, typology, Creoles
Published Books
aschwegler@uci.edu
Patricia Seed
Seed
Professor of History
Mapping: History & Design, Game Design, Navigation
Published Books
seed5@uci.edu
Jacobo Sefamí
Sefamí
Professor of Spanish
Latin American literature, contemporary poetry
Published Books
jsefami@uci.edu
Caesar D. Sereseres
Sereseres
Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies, School of Social Sciences, and Associate Professor of Political Sciencecdserese@uci.edu
Etel Solingen
Solingen
Professor of Political Science
International Relations Theory, International Political Economy, International Cooperation, Macropolitics/Institutions, Comparative Politics, World Politics and Regional Orders
esolinge@uci.edu
Luis Suárez-VillaProfessor of Planning, Policy, and Design
Critical political economy, technology, international development
lsuarez@uci.edu
Heidi Tinsman
Tinsman
Professor of History
Latin America, Gender & Sexuality, World History
Published Books
hetinsma@uci.edu
Steven Topik
Topik
Professor of History
Brazil & Latin America, History of Coffee, World through Commodities
Published Books
sctopik@uci.edu
Julio Torres
Torres
Assistant Professor of Spanish
Heritage/Second Language Acquisition, Bilingualism, Cognition, Task-Based Language Learning, Curriculum & Instruction
torresju@uci.edu
Deborah Vargas
Vargas
Associate Professor, Chicano/Latino Studies
Chicana/Latina Cultural Production; Racialized Sexualities; Critical Race Feminisms; Cultural Studies; Popular Culture
vargasd@uci.edu
Luis P. Villareal
Villareal
Professor of Molecular Biology and Biochemistry
Virus evolution, viral gene therapy vectors, BSL3 cell culture, cancer virology, proteomics, biodefense
lpviller@uci.edu
Douglas R. White
White
Professor of Anthropology
Computational social science, mathematical anthropology, social networks, longitudinal analysis, development and social change, social simulation and game theory
drwhite@uci.edu