Core Faculty for the LAS Minor and Graduate Emphasis

NameTitle/InterestEmail
Catherine Benamou
Benamou
Associate Professor, Film & Media Studies
Latin American and Latina/o Film & media, Transnational flows and diasporic spectatorship, Orson Welles, media ethnography and historical reconstruction
Published Books
cbenamou@uci.edu
Alex Borucki
Borucki
Director, Latin American Studies
Associate Professor in History
African Diaspora, Colonial Latin America, Early Modern Atlantic World
aborucki@uci.edu
Anita Casavantes Bradford
Casavantes Bradford
Associate Professor Chicano/Latino Studies
Transnational Comparative Latina/o History, Childhood, Immigration
Faculty Website
Published Books
acasavan@uci.edu
Ivette N. Hernandez-Torres
Hernandez-Torres
Associate Professor of Spanish
Latin American Colonial Literature & Caribbean Literature
Published Books
ivetteh@uci.edu
Adriana M. Johnson
Johnson
Director, Global Cultures
Associate Professor of Comparative Literature
Brazil, Postcolonial Latin American literature, culture and film
adrianaj@uci.edu
Horacio Legras
Legras
Professor of Spanish
Latin American literature
hlegras@uci.edu
Viviane Mahieux
Mahieux
Associate Professor of Spanish
Modern and contemporary Latin American literature, with a focus on Mexico
Published Books
vmahieux@uci.edu
Rachel O'Toole
O'Toole
Associate Professor of History
Colonial Latin America, African Diaspora, Gender & Sexuality
Published Books
rotoole@uci.edu
Armin Schwegler
Schwegler
Professor of Spanish
History of Spanish, historical linguistics, typology, Creoles
Published Books
aschwegl@uci.edu
Jacobo Sefamí
Sefamí
Professor of Spanish
Latin American literature, contemporary poetry
Published Books
jsefami@uci.edu
Heidi Tinsman
Tinsman
Professor of History
Latin America, Gender & Sexuality, World History
Published Books
hetinsma@uci.edu
Steven Topic
Topic
Professor of History
Brazil & Latin America, History of Coffee, World through Commodities
Published Books
sctopik@uci.edu