Mentoring Program

The Department of Gender & Sexuality Studies is happy to announce a new mentoring program. Each student can be paired with one of our core faculty members as their primary advisor. Mentees will meet with their advisor on a quarterly basis to discuss their progress toward degree and to seek guidance on course selections, life after graduation, or simply to check in.

One of the advantages of pursuing a major in a small department is the individualized attention and the collegiality that each student can expect to find. As a department, we are committed to helping our students excel, and we hope you will take part in this and in other upcoming initiatives.

The mentoring program is currently available to Gender & Sexuality Studies MAJORS and to Queer Studies MINORS only. If you are in one of these two groups and you would like to take part in the program, please send the following required information directly to the core faculty member whom you would like to request to have as your advisor (all core faculty names and emails are listed below). If you do not have a preference, you can always contact the Undergraduate Director.

------------------------------------------------------------------------

Your NAME:

Your UCI EMAIL:

Your ID #:

Are you a Gender & Sexuality Studies MAJOR?

Are you a queer studies MINOR?

Which of our core faculty members would you like to have as your advisor? (We will try to accommodate your request, but a different advisor may be assigned to you depending on individual availability):

__ No preference
__ Prof. Laura Kang (hykang@uci.edu
__ Prof. Lilith Mahmud (lmahmud@uci.edu
__ Prof. Jeanne Scheper (jscheper@uci.edu
__ Prof. Jennifer Terry (jterry@uci.edu
__Prof. Catherine Sameh (csameh@uci.edu)
__Prof. Emily Thuma (emily.thuma@uci.edu)