Core Faculty

Our core faculty members have been awarded grants, teaching awards, and nationally competitive post-doctoral fellowships. Recognized as innovators in the field, the Department ’s core faculty have published in top university presses, contributed to foremost journals, and are regularly invited to give scholarly presentations at universities in the U.S. and around the world.

Our core faculty have affiliations with Anthropology, the Arts Computation Engineering PhD program, Asian American Studies, Comparative Literature, English, International Studies, Religious Studies, and Visual Studies. We are also affiliated with the Critical Theory Institute, the Center for Asian Studies, the Center for Ethnography, the Center for Global Peace and Conflict Studies, the Working Group on Law and Society, and the Science and Technology Studies Working Group. In addition, two new Working Groups in Middle East and African Studies and in Transnational and Transoceanic Networks were initiated in part by our faculty.

NameTitle/InterestEmail
Jonathan Alexander
Alexander
Chancellor's Professor of English, Departments of English, Education and Gender & Sexuality Studies
Published Books
jfalexan@uci.edu
Christine Balance
Balance
Associate Professor, Department of Asian American Studies
Published Books
cbalance@uci.edu
Victoria Bernal
Bernal
Professor, Department of Anthropology
Faculty Website
vbernal@uci.edu
Michele GoodwinChancellor’s Professor of Law & Director of the Center for Biotechnology and Global Health Policy
Faculty Website
mgoodwin@law.uci.edu
Laura Hyun Yi Kang
Kang
Graduate Director Professor of Gender & Sexuality Studies
Published Books
laura.kang@uci.edu
Lilith Mahmud
Mahmud
Associate Professor of Gender & Sexuality Studies, Undergraduate Director
Published Books
lmahmud@uci.edu
Nasrin Rahimieh
Rahimieh
Professor, Department of Persian Studies and Culture, & Department of Comparative Literature, & Department of Gender & Sexuality Studies
Published Books
nrahimie@uci.edu
Catherine Sameh
Sameh
Assistant Professor of Gender & Sexuality Studiescsameh@uci.edu
Jeanne Scheper
Scheper
Associate Professor of Gender & Sexuality Studies
Published Books
jscheper@uci.edu
Jennifer Terry
Terry
Department Chair and Professor of Gender & Sexuality Studies
Published Books
jterry@uci.edu
Emily Thuma
Thuma
Assistant Professor of Gender & Sexuality Studiesethuma@uci.edu
Heidi Tinsman
Tinsman
Professor, Department of History
Published Books
hetinsma@uci.edu