Core Faculty

NameTitle/InterestEmail
Jonathan Alexander
Alexander
Chancellor's Professor of English
Campus Writing Coordinator
Director, Center for Excellence in Writing & Communication
Equity Advisor, School of Humanities Fall 2017
Editor, College Composition and Communication
153 MKH
(949) 824-7397
Published Books
jfalexan@uci.edu
Elizabeth Allen
Allen
Associate Professor of English
373 HIB
eallen@uci.edu
Published Books
eallen@uci.edu
Jami Bartlett
Bartlett
Associate Professor of English
169 MKH
j.bartlett@uci.edu
j.bartlett@uci.edu
Carol M. Burke
Burke
Professor of English
(Sabbatical F17 & W18)
143 MKH
Published Books
cburke@uci.edu
Ellen Burt
Burt
Professor of English
173 MKH
Published Books
esburt@uci.edu
Ron Carlson
Carlson
Professor of English
Co-Director, MFA Program in Writing
(On Leave S18)
312 HIB
Published Books
ron.carlson@uci.edu
Nahum Dimitri Chandler
Chandler
Professor of English and African American Studies
3333 Humanities Gateway
949-824-1610
Published Books
n.d.chandler@uci.edu
Jerome Christensen
Christensen
Professor of English
473 KH
Published Books
jchris@uci.edu
Miles Corwin
Corwin
Professor of English
401 HIB
Published Books
corwinm@uci.edu
Alicia Cox
Cox
Assistant Professor of Comparative Literaturealicia.cox@uci.edu
Rebecca Davis
Davis
Associate Professor of English
Undergraduate Chair of English
350 HIB
radavis@uci.edu
Published Books
radavis@uci.edu
Christopher Fan
Fan
Assistant Professor of English
306 HIB
chris.fan@uci.edu
Amy Gerstler
Gerstler
Professor of English
308 HIB
agerstle@uci.edu
Published Books
agerstle@uci.edu
Richard Godden
Godden
Professor of English
163 KH
Published Books
rgodden@uci.edu
Daniel M. Gross
Gross
Professor of English
Director of Composition
346 HIB
(949) 824-1037
Published Books
dgross@uci.edu
Martin Harries
Harries
Professor of English
409 HIB
Published Books
martin.harries@uci.edu
Erika Hayasaki
Hayasaki
Associate Professor of English
403 HIB
ehayasak@uci.edu
Published Books
ehayasak@uci.edu
Rebeca Helfer
Helfer
Associate Professor of English
(Sabbatical F17 & W18)
402 HIB
Published Books
rhelfer@uci.edu
Andrea Henderson
Henderson
Professor of English
400 HIB
Published Books
akhender@uci.edu
Oren Izenberg
Izenberg
Associate Professor of English
Director of Graduate Studies
404 HIB
Published Books
o.izenberg@uci.edu
Virginia Jackson
Jackson
Associate Professor of English
UCI Endowed Chair in Rhetoric and Communication
368 HIB
Published Books
vwjackso@uci.edu
Michelle Latiolais
Latiolais
Professor of English
(Sabbatical F17)
309 HIB
Published Books
latiolai@uci.edu
Rodrigo Lazo
Lazo
Associate Professor of English
Associate Professor of Comparative Literature
Director of Humanities Core Course
(Sabbatical W18)
HG 3114
Published Books
rlazo@uci.edu
Jerry Won Lee
Lee
Assistant Professor of English
(Sabbatical F17)
301 HIB
Published Books
jwl@uci.edu
Jayne Lewis
Lewis
Professor of English
376 HIB
Published Books
jelewis@uci.edu
Julia R. Lupton
Lupton
Professor of English
Associate Dean for Research, School of Humanities
Faculty Director, Illuminations: The Chancellor's Arts and Culture Initiative
1130 HG (Office)
jrlupton@uci.edu
Published Books
jrlupton@uci.edu
Theodore Martin
Martin
Assistant Professor of English
352 HIB
Published Books
theodore.martin@uci.edu
Annie McClanahan
McClanahan
Assistant Professor of English
302 HIB
Published Books
amcclana@uci.edu
Laura O'Connor
O'Connor
Associate Professor of English
144 MKH
Published Books
loconnor@uci.edu
Bradley Queen
Queen
Lecturer with Security of Employment (LSOE)
Vice Chair of English
Associate Director of Composition
314 HIB
bradley.queen@uci.edu
R. Radhakrishnan
Radhakrishnan
Chancellor's Professor of English
Chancellor's Professor of Comparative Literature
Equity Advisor, School of Humanities Winter and Spring 2018
(Sabbatical F17)
159 KH
Published Books
rradhakr@uci.edu
Hugh Roberts
Roberts
Associate Professor of English
Advisor for English Majors' Association (EMA)
372 HIB
Published Books
hroberts@uci.edu
Michael Ryan
Ryan
Professor of English
310 HIB
Published Books
mryan@uci.edu
Barry Siegel
Siegel
Professor of English
Director of Literary Journalism
(Sabbatical F17 & W18)
408 HIB
Published Books
bsiegel@uci.edu
Victoria SilverAssociate Professor of English
Director of Summer M.A. Program
118 KH
vasilver@uci.edu
James Steintrager
Steintrager
Professor of English
Professor of Comparative Literature
Professor of French
Director, UCI Critical Theory

174 KH (Office)
Published Books
jsteintr@uci.edu
Michael Szalay
Szalay
Professor of English
Chair of English
146 KH
431 HIB (Chair's office)
(949) 824-6715 (Chair's Office)
Published Books
mszalay@uci.edu
Ngugi wa Thiong'o
Thiong'o
Distinguished Professor of English
Distinguished Professor of Comparative Lit.
279 HIB
(949) 824-6722
Published Books
ngugi@uci.edu
Irene Tucker
Tucker
Professor of English
348 HIB
irenet@uci.edu
Published Books
irenet@uci.edu
Georges Van Den Abbeele
Van Den Abbeele
Dean of the School of Humanities and Professor of Comparative Literature and English
4100 HG
(949) 824-5133
gvandena@uci.edu
Andrzej Warminski
Warminski
Professor of English
Associate Dean for Personnel, School of Humanities
500C KH (Office)
Published Books
ajwarmin@uci.edu
Amy Wilentz
Wilentz
Professor of English
410 HIB
Published Books
awilentz@uci.edu