Core Faculty

NameTitle/InterestEmail
Elizabeth Allen
Allen
Ph.D. University of Michigan
Associate Professor of English
(Middle English literature and reception; exemplary and didactic literature; ideas of holiness; history of emotion.)
Published Books
eallen@uci.edu
Luis Aviles
Aviles
Ph.D. Brown University
Associate Professor of Spanish and Portuguese
(Renaissance and Baroque Spanish literature, and literary theory)
Published Books
laviles@uci.edu
Alice BerghofPh.D. UCI
Lecturer, Humanities Core Course
(Milton, Shakespeare, Augustine, women lyric poets, women and science, history of grammar, art history)
aberghof@uci.edu
Sharon Block
Block
Ph.D. Princeton University
Associate Professor of History
(early American social and economic history; women's history)
Published Books
sblock@uci.edu
James T. Chiampi
Chiampi
Ph.D. Yale University; Professor of Italian
(Dante, Renaissance epic and pastoral, modern Italian novel, Italian language)
Published Books
jtchiamp@uci.edu
Touraj Daryaee
Daryaee
Howard C. Baskerville Professor of History in Iran and the Persionate World; Associate Director, Dr. Samuel M. Jordan Center for Persian Studies and Culture.
Ph.D. UCLA
Research interests: Ancient History, Late Antiquity, Persianate World, Zoroast
Published Books
tdaryaee@uci.edu
Rebecca Davis
Davis
Ph.D., University of Notre Dame
Assistant Professor, Department of English
Old and Middle English literature; Piers Plowman; medieval religious culture; women's writing; medieval philosophy; nature and animals in literature.
Published Books
radavis@uci.edu
Peter Frei
Frei
Assistant Professor of French. Early Modern and Modern French Literature, Renaissance Culture, the Body and its Representations, the Politics of Literature
Faculty Website
Michael Fuller
Fuller
Ph.D. Yale University; Associate Professor of Chinese
(Classical Chinese poetry and poetics; the cultural and intellectual contexts for poetry; aesthetic theory; linguistic issues in classical Chinese)
Published Books
mafuller@uci.edu
Zina Giannopoulou
Giannopoulou
PH.D. University of Illinois
Assistant Professor of Classics
(Ancient Greek Philosophy, esp. Plato; reception of classical antiquity in modern and contemporary prose literature; ancient Greek epic and tragedy).
Published Books
zgiannop@uci.edu
James B. Given
Given
Ph.D., Stanford University}Professor of History( Early Medieval Europe, social and political history)
Published Books
jbgiven@uci.edu
Sean Greenberg
Greenberg
Associate Professor of Philosophy: Leibniz, Malebranche, early modern philosophygreenbes@uci.edu
Daniel Gross
Gross
Associate Professor of English: History and Theory of Rhetoric; Early Modern Literature and Culture; Heidegger and Rhetoric
Published Books
dgross@uci.edu
Rebeca Helfer
Helfer
Ph.D. Columbia University
Associate Professor of English
(Renaissance literature, especially Spenser; history of memory)
Published Books
rhelfer@uci.edu
Ivette N. Hernández-Torres
Hernández-Torres
Ph.D Brown University
Associate Professor of Spanish and Portuguese
(Colonial Latin America and Hispanic Caribbean Literature and Culture)
Published Books
ivetteh@uci.edu
Lamar M. Hill
Hill
Ph.D. University of London
Professor of History
(Tudor-Stuart England; early modern Europe)
lmhill@uci.edu
Susan Jarratt
Jarratt
Ph.D. University of Texas, Austin
Professor of Comparative Literature and Campus Writing Director
(ancient Greek Rhetoric, women and gender in the history of rhetoric)
www.writing.edu
Published Books
sjarratt@uci.edu
Joseph JenkinsPh.D. UCLA; JD Boalt School of Law, UC Berkeley
Adjunct Assistant Professor of Education
(English legal history, focusing on inheritance law and royal prerogative jurisdictions)
j.jenkins@uci.edu
Andromache Karanika
Karanika
Ph.D. Princeton University
Assistant Professor of Classics
(Greek Epic and Lyric Poetry; Women in Antiquity; Oral Tradition and Folklore; Ancient Greek Religion)
Published Books
karanika@uci.edu
Bonnie Kent
Kent
Ph.D. Columbia University
Professor of Philosophy
(Medieval ethics and psychology; conceptions of virtue, vice, and sin; emotions and moral weakness; controversies about free choice)
Published Books
bkent@uci.edu
Susan B. Klein
Klein
Ph.D. Cornell University
Director of Religious Studies and Associate Professor of Japanese
(premodern and modern theater and dance; medieval commentaries; Japanese religions; new historicism and feminist critical theory)
Published Books
sbklein@uci.edu
Jayne Lewis
Lewis
Ph.D. Princeton University, Professor of English (Restoration/eighteenth- century British Literature; natural philosophy and the supernatural; early modern meteorology; historical fiction)
Published Books
jelewis@uci.edu
Christophe Litwin
Litwin
Assistant Professor of French. Christophe Litwin joins us from Princeton University where he was a Fellow at the Society of Fellows in the Liberal Arts. His research focuses on early modern French literature and culture, early modern European moral a
Faculty Website
Julia R. Lupton
Lupton
Ph.D. Yale University, Professor of English and Comparative Literature (Shakespeare; Renaissance literature; religious studies; Jewish studies; humanities and the public sphere; webmaster for Early Cultures)
Published Books
jrlupton@uci.edu
Lyle Massey
Massey
Director, Center for Early Cultures and Associate Professor of Art History and Visual Studies (Southern Renaissance and early modern art history, art and science, gender studies, phenomenology)
Published Books
lmassey@uci.edu
Nancy McLoughlin
McLoughlin
Assistant Professor of History; Late medieval intellectual and gender history.
Published Books
nmclough@uci.edu
Margaret M. Miles
Miles
Ph.D. Princeton University
Associate Professor of Art History (Greek and Roman art; architecture and archaeology)
Published Books
mmmiles@uci.edu
Laura Mitchell
Mitchell
Ph.D., UCLA
Assistant Professor of History
African and Southern African history, colonialism, environment, labor & slavery, families & household formation
faculty web page
Published Books
mitchell@uci.edu
Ian MunroPh.D. Harvard University
Associate Professor, Department of Drama, Bren School of the Arts
(Shakespeare, early modern theater and culture)
Faculty Website
Jane O. Newman
Newman
Ph.D. Princeton University; Professor of Comparative Literature
(Comparative Renaissance and Baroque Literary and Cultural Studies; Walter Benjamin and the Baroque; History and Theories of Comparative Literature; Afterlives of the Greeks: Comparati
Published Books
jonewman@uci.edu
Rachel O'Toole
O'Toole
Ph.D. University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill; Assistant Professor of History(Colonial Latin America; Indigenous histories, Andean society, African Diaspora)
Faculty Website
Published Books
rotoole@uci.edu
Kevin Olson
Olson
Associate Professor, Political Science: Contemporary Political Theory, Insurgent and Popular Politics, Citizenship, Social Democracy, Cultural Politics, Poststructuralism, Critical Theory, 19th and 20th Century Political Theorykvein.olson@uci.edu
Maria Pantelia
Pantelia
Ph.D. Ohio State University, Department Chair and Professor of Classics and Director, Thesaurus Linguae Graecae®
(Greek epic poetry, Hellenistic poetry, computer applications to classics)
Published Books
mcpantel@uci.edu
Amy Powell
Powell
Associate Professor, Art History: Northern European Art and Visual Culture, 1300-1700
Published Books
amy.powell@uci.edu
Renee Raphael
Raphael
Assistant Professor of History: Early modern history of science, early modern European intellectual and cultural history, history of the book and its readers, science and visual culture
Faculty Website
renee.raphael@uci.edu
Bryan Reynolds
Reynolds
Ph.D. Harvard University
Professor and Head of Doctoral Studies in Drama, Bren School of the Arts
(Shakespeare, early modern theater and culture, transversal poetics)
web page
Published Books
breynold@uci.edu
Victoria SilverPh.D. University of California, Los Angeles
Associate Professor of English
(Renaissance studies; feminist and gender studies; cultural studies and criticism; history of literary theory; histories and theories of rhetoric)
vasilver@uci.edu
James Steintrager
Steintrager
Ph.D. Columbia University
Associate Professor of English and Comparative Literature
(Eighteenth-century English, French, and German literature and aesthetics; amatory, erotic, and libertine fiction.)
Published Books
jsteintr@uci.edu
Keith Topper
Topper
Associate Professor, Political Science: History of political thought and political theory, American political thought, contemporary political and social theory, democratic theory, the philosophy of the social sciences, theories of power, theories ofktopper@uci.edu
Andrew Zissos
Zissos
Assistant Professor of Classics
PhD Princeton University
(Roman literature and culture)
Published Books
pzissos@uci.edu