Highlights

Highlights

UC Irvine Student Center

Core Faculty

NameTitle/InterestEmail
Jonathan Alexander
Alexander
PhD, Louisiana State University
Chancellor's Fellow and Professor of English
(writing studies, hetoric/composition, sexuality studies, science fiction studies)
Published Books
jfalexan@uci.edu
Christine Balance
Balance
Ph.D. New York University, Assistant Professor Asian American Studies (Filipino American studies, Asian American studies, performance studies, queer/feminist theory, and U.S. popular culture)
Published Books
cbalance@uci.edu
Bridget R. Cooks
Cooks
Ph.D. University of Rochester
Assistant Professor African American Studies, Art History
(African American art and culture, Black visual culture, museum criticism, film, feminist theory and postcolonial theory)
Published Books
b.cooks@uci.edu
Sora Han
Han
Ph.D. UC Santa Cruz
Assistant Professor of Criminology, Law & Society
(law and popular culture, critical race theory, philosophies of punishment, feminism and psychoanalysis)
Published Books
sora.han@uci.edu
Douglas M. Haynes
Haynes
Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley
Director of the ADVANCE Program for Faculty and Diversity and Associate Professor of History (social and cultural history of modern Britain, social history of modern medicine)
Published Books
dhaynes@uci.edu
Victoria E. Johnson
Johnson
Ph.D. University of Southern California
Associate Professor, Film & Media Studies and African American Studies
(critical/cultural history of U.S. TV and film, critical race theory, sound and music in film/TV, branding and identity)
Published Books
v.e.johnson@uci.edu
Claire Jean Kim
Kim
Ph.D. Yale University
Professor, Asian American Studies and Political Science
(race, multiculturalism, minority politics, social movements, immigration, human-animal studies )
Published Books
cjkim@uci.edu
James Kyung-Jin Lee
Lee
Ph.D. University of California, Los Angeles
Associate Professor, Asian American Studies and English
(Asian American literature and culture, contemporary US literature, race and ethnic studies, urban studies)
jim.lee@uci.edu
Julia Lee
Lee
Ph.D. University of California, Los Angeles
Assistant Professor, Asian American Studies
(Asian American literature and culture, African American literature and culture, ethnic literature, twentieth-century American literature)
Published Books
juliahl1@uci.edu
Mark LeVine
LeVine
Ph.D. New York University
Professor of History
(modern Middle Eastern history, Islamic studies, histories of empire and globalization)
Published Books
mlevine@uci.edu
Glen Mimura
Mimura
Ph.D. University of California, Santa Cruz
Associate Professor, Film & Media Studies and Asian American Studies
(Minoritarian and political film; media and race; popular culture and social movements)
Published Books
gmimura@uci.edu
Rachel O'Toole
O'Toole
Ph.D. University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Assistant Professor, History
(Colonial Latin America, African Diaspora, colonialisms, race, racism, indigenous histories, Atlantic worlds)
Published Books
rotoole@uci.edu
Kevin Olson
Olson
Ph.D. Northwestern University
Associate Professor, Political Science
(contemporary European political theory, cultural politics, politics of diversity, popular sovereignty, citizenship, 19th and 20th century political theory)
kevin.olson@uci.edu
R. Radhakrishnan
Radhakrishnan
Ph.D. State University of New York, Binghamton
Chancellor's Professor of English and Comparative Literature (postcoloniality, nationalisms and diasporas, poststructuralism, postmodernism, globalization and transnationalism)
Published Books
rradhakr@uci.edu
Connie J. Samaras
Samaras
M.F.A. Eastern Michigan University
Professor of Studio Art (photography, contemporary visual art, gender studies, culture and technology)
samaras@uci.edu
Jeanne Scheper
Scheper
Assistant Professor, Gender & Sexuality Studies
Published Books
jscheper@uci.edu
Gabriele Schwab
Schwab
Ph.D. University of KonstanzUCI Chancellor’s Professor of Comparative Literature (modern literature, critical theory, psychoanalysis, comparative literature)
Published Books
gmschwab@uci.edu
Jared Sexton
Sexton
Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley
Associate Professor of African American Studies and of Film and Media Studies (race & sexuality, policing & imprisonment, contemporary U.S. cinema & political culture, multiracial coalition, critical theory)
Published Books
jcsexton@uci.edu
Rei Terada
Terada
Ph.D. Boston University
Professor of Comparative Literature and Director, Critical Theory Emphasis (theory, history of philosophy, 19th and 20th century poetry, and romanticism)
Published Books
terada@uci.edu
Keith Topper
Topper
Ph.D. U.C.L.A., Associate Professor of Political Science (political and critical theory, poststructuralism, theories of power, language and politics, theory and politics of interpretation, politics of culture, philosophy of the social sciences)ktopper@uci.edu
Roxanne Varzi
Varzi
Ph.D. Columbia University
Associate Professor or Anthropology (Islam, visual anthropology, anthropology of war, media, youth culture, religion and public space; Iran)
rvarzi@uci.edu
Linda Trinh Vo
Vo
Ph.D. University of California, San Diego UCI Chancellor’s Fellow and Associate Professor of Asian American Studies (Asian American communities, Asian American women, immigration and race relations, social inequalities, urban studies)
Published Books
volt@uci.edu
Frank B. Wilderson
Wilderson
Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley
Professor of African American Studies; Drama; Film and Media Studies
(Afro-Pessimism, film theory, Marxism, dramaturgy, narratology)
Published Books
fwilders@uci.edu
Tiffany Willoughby-Herard
Willoughby-Herard
Ph.D. University of California, Santa Barbara
Associate Professor, African American Studies
(South Africa, poor whites, race in foreign policy, diaspora, comparative racial politics, third world feminisms, feminist pedagogy, black political though
Published Books
twilloug@uci.edu
Judy Wu
Wu
Professor of Asian American Studies
Published Books
Mei Zhan
Zhan
Ph.D. Stanford University
Assistant Professor of Anthropology (medical anthropology, cultural and social science, globalization, transnationalism, gender; China and United States)
mzhan@uci.edu