Tri-Campus Faculty

NameTitle/InterestEmail
Georgios H. Anagnostopoulos
Anagnostopoulos
Ph.D. Brandeis University, Professor of Philosophy, UCSD (Ancient Philosophy
and centers around ethics, metaphysics, science, technology and human values)
Faculty Website
ganagnostopoulos@ucsd.edu
Cynthia L. Claxton
Claxton
Ph.D. University of Washington, Senior Lecturer in Classics and Undergraduate Advisor (Greek Prose, Historiography)
Faculty Website
Published Books
clclaxto@uci.edu
Denise Demetriou
Demetriou
Ph.D. Johns Hopkins University, Associate Professor, UCSD, Gerry and Jeannie Ranglas Chair in Ancient Greek History (Ancient Greek social, cultural, and political history; Greco-Phoenician interactions; ancient Greek religion)
Faculty Website
dedemetriou@ucsd.edu
Zina Giannopoulou
Giannopoulou
Ph.D. University of Illinois, Associate Professor of Classics and Graduate Advisor (Ancient Greek Philosophy, esp. Plato, Reception of Classical Antiquity in Modern and Contemporary Prose Literature; Greek Tragedy and Epic)
Faculty Website
Published Books
zgiannop@uci.edu
Denver Graninger
Graninger
Ph.D. Cornell University, Associate Professor of History, UCR (Greek and Roman History, Greek Epigraphy and Archaeology)
Faculty Website
denver.graninger@ucr.edu
Monte Johnson
Johnson
Ph.D. University of Toronto, Associate Professor of Philosophy, UCSD (Classical
and Hellenistic philosophy, focuses on Aristotle and Democritus, and their
immense subsequent influence on philosophy and science)
Faculty Website
monte@ucsd.edu
Dayna KalleresPh.D. Brown University, Associate Professor, UCSD (Late antiquity, religious studies, critical theories of religion)
Faculty Website
dkalleres@ucsd.edu
Andromache Karanika
Karanika
Ph.D. Princeton University, Associate Professor of Classics (Greek epic poetry, Greek Lyric, Folklore)
Faculty Website
Published Books
karanika@uci.edu
Marianne McDonald
McDonald
Ph.D. University of California, Irvine, Professor of Theatre and Classics, UCSD (Greek and Roman theatre, ancient drama in modern plays, film, and opera; personal website)
Faculty Website
mmcdonald@ucsd.edu
Margaret M. Miles
Miles
Ph.D. Princeton University, Professor of Art History and Classics (Greek and Roman Art and Architecture, Archaeology, Cultural Heritage and Cultural Property)
Faculty Website
Published Books
mmmiles@uci.edu
Jozef Müller
Müller
Ph.D. Princeton University, Assistant Professor, UCR (Ancient Philosophy, especially Aristotle, Plato, and the Stoics).
Faculty Website
jozef.muller@ucr.edu
Sheldon Nodelman
Nodelman
Ph.D. Yale University, Associate Professor of Visual Arts, UCSD (classical art and architecture, Roman portraiture, critical theory)
Faculty Website
snodelman@ucsd.edu
Maria Pantelia
Pantelia
Ph.D. Ohio State University, Professor of Classics, Thesaurus Linguae Graecae Director (Greek epic, Hellenistic poetry, Digital Humanities)
Faculty Website
Published Books
mcpantel@uci.edu
Lisa RaphalsPh.D. University of Chicago, Professor of Chinese and Comparative Ancient Civilizations, UCR (Comparative philosophy, religion, history of science, and gender)
Faculty Website
lisa.raphals@ucr.edu
Michele Salzman
Salzman
Ph.D. Bryn Mawr College, Professor of History, UCR (Ancient Greece & Rome; late antiquity; social and religious history)
Chair of the Joint Executive Committee of the Tri-Campus Program.
Faculty Website
michele.salzman@ucr.edu
Edward Watts
Watts
Ph.D. Yale University, Professor, Alkiviadis Vassiladis Endowed Chair in Byzantine History, UCSD (Intellectual and religious history of the early Byzantine Empire, Late Antiquity)
Faculty Website
ewatts@ucsd.edu
Andrew Zissos
Zissos
Ph.D. Princeton University, Associate Professor (Latin epic,
Imperial Roman Culture, Classical Reception)
Faculty Website
Published Books
pzissos@uci.edu